Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
44
4.7 out of 5 stars
House of Many Ways
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 June 2009
What a book. If you loved howls moving castle then you'll love this. It's great for kids over 8 and adults. The characters are great and Diana Wynne Jones takes you into a world of magic and intrigue. Howl and his family even make another appearance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
I have read and thoroughly enjoyed "Howl's Moving Castle" and "Castle in the Air", both of which were beautifully written and a pleasure to read. However, "The House of Many Ways" is an absolute delight and reaches a new high. Diana Wynne Jones is quite rightly credited as one of the best children's fantasy writers of her time, and this book maintains her high standards. Her plots tend to meander, but in a good way, and the multi-facetted story lines mean that one must work to understanding what is going on. This makes her books all the more enjoyable and sets her apart from many other children's writers.

A true gem from an author who will be sadly missed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
Here's my exhaustive review - it was a very enjoyable read. I love the animated film of Howl's Moving Castle so I wanted to read more about that world and those characters, and wasn't disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Great. I read this because I read her book of howl's Moving Castle after seeing the Studio Ghibli film. It's about a girl who doesn't want to wash up , just read books, left alone in a magic house,.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
OK so it was never going to be Howl's Moving Castle but still an enjoyable book and an engaging story in its own right. I liked Charmain, Waif and most definitely Calcifer. Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
Saw the film Howl's Moving castle and then found out it was a book first so I had to go back and read the whole series.

Do the same they are very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Loved the anime movie so I read the book series and was not disappointed! The last chapter was a bit unsatisfying, happily ever after but still a good series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Really enjoyed this. Aiming to collect all her books but this is the last one available. But I'll keep looking for the others. And I didn't spot the join....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
since I'm still reading the first book of the series.
But the first book is very good and quality of the second book is excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
As gripping as the first book. More mythical again, but that ties in very well with the location. Easy read and happily re-read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Castle in the Air
£6.99
Fire and Hemlock
£6.50
Enchanted Glass
£6.80

Need customer service? Click here