Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2006
'Tracing Your Family History' is an excellent guide and reference book that will be useful for any genealogist starting out on a serious family history quest. Not owning Mark Herber's similarly aimed book, 'Ancestral Trails', which at a whopping 840 pages is more than twice the size of Adolph's volume, I can't compare the two, but TYFH is certainly a book that's designed to be used and would make an excellent present for someone starting out in their research. It's the kind of book that's worth dipping in to, and returning to from time to time, as well as reading from cover to cover.
Its chapters are structured by category of record, which means that it is easy find everything you need about specific types or sets of records in one place. This is useful as, once your family history investigation gets under way, this is usually the way one organises the research process.
One danger facing any author in this field is that the internet references quickly become dated. TYFH has a large number of URLs that can be usefully followed up, in fact more than enough to keep an assiduous researcher fully occupied for many, many months. However, if you're the kind of researcher that has to nail down every reference or potential website record then you probably need Peter Christian's 'The Genealogist's Internet', now in its third edition, as well.
It's hard to imagine any single book containing everything that a present-day genealogist would ever want, the range of documentary materials transcribed and online records available is simply too great, but this is an exellent single-volume description of the field that covers the full scope that almost all family history projects will ever need.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2006
This is an updated edition of a book that was first published in 2004. It is well produced and lavishly illustrated, though some sections could have done with a bit of basic, old-fashioned editorial work and proof-reading. The author, an experienced professional genealogist, covers all the standard sources: oral evidence; birth, marriage and death certificates; census returns; wills, and so on. But there are also useful sections on subjects not touched on by earlier books on family history, such as the implications of DNA technology for genealogists, and the tracing of ancestors who were not born in Great Britain. It is particularly helpful to have an up-to-date address list, which includes some of the most useful websites. In all, a valuable addition to any family historian's library, whether they are a beginner or an old hand.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
Bought a copy of this book after borrowing one from a friend. I've been tracing my family history for many years but found this book gave me other places to search that I was not previously aware of. A must for genealogists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Well laid out chapters comprehensively take the reader through all relevant aspects of genealogy research. It is suitable for the newbie researcher; a useful manual even for the experienced or professional in this field. Well illustrated and an absorbing read. Online information now a little dated, so checking and your updating necessary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
This book explains all the basics about starting out on family history research, and is set out in simple and esy to read format - good for just reading selected relevant sections or as a whole. Its well laid out, and easy to follow, but seems to have the crucial hints and tips. Gives a good steer of wher to gomand how to do it - and is extremley up-to-date on data availability - this is a fast changing! A very good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
I am relatively new to Genealogy and like many others I was unsure about how to handle the issues encountered when trying to obtain data that is as accurate as possible. Many find it frustrating when faced with the mass of often conflicting information. It is all too easy to go down the wrong path and find out after six months that your hard work has been in vain!
This book goes through the various methods of obtaining data explaining how to cross reference sources to validate the information. The writing style is easy to follow and has been split in a manner to make it possible to read the book in small sections if required.
I frequently refer back to sections of the book so it has proved to be excellent value to me. I would strongly recommend it to anyone wishing to begin creating or continuing to research their family details.

Collins Tracing Your Family History
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2009
The book was given as a Christmas present so the following is provided by the person it was given to.

I have "dipped" into this book at random and have found the articles particularly interesting and informative. A good source, it would seem, for anyone trying to trace their family history, easy to read and the details quoted in good everyday language. My is copy is a Hardback publication; I think a Paperback version would be easier to carry around with you when following "leads".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
Whilst the information detailing the many and varied sources that can be accessed for tracing family history is excellent the production of the book is just dreadful. The printing of text onto coloured panels makes it almost impossible to read particularly under artifical light. The book was recommended to me by my daughter in law but when I challenged her on this problem after receiving the book she immediately agreed with me, she is a middle aged school teacher obviously used to reading text books but found this book very difficuly to read. Its a pity because as I say the helpful information and advice is first class from a very experienced researcher.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
for my husband who is just starting out on researching his family tree. He has found this book very helpful and I can say between this and the laptop he hasnt put any of them down!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
This book was delivered very soon after my order, thank you.
It was recommended to me by our local family history group.
Its wonderful, very easy to read, follow and understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here