Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
45
The Secret of Chimneys (Agatha Christie Facsimile Edtn)
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 30 December 2012
First published in 1925, this is the first Christie novel to feature Superintendent Battle (he appeared in a further four novels: The Seven Dials Mystery (Masterpiece Edition),Cards on the Table (Poirot),Murder Is Easy (Agatha Christie Collection) and Towards Zero (Agatha Christie Collection). The novel is in many ways a typical country house farce, involving many aliases, royalty, blackmail, secret assignations, jewel thieves, murder and general confusion. The story begins when Anthony Cade is given a manuscript to deliver to London by his old friend Jimmy McGrath, along with some letters to be returned to a blackmail victim. Along the way Cade is attacked, robbed and becomes involved with some high level meetings at the country house Chimneys involving the royal family of Herzoslovakia. Virtually nobody is who they are supposed to be and the plot is almost too involved to explain. However, the whole thing is great fun and people take the most astounding events with great calm and English reserve, making this a very enjoyable read indeed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2017
Super !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
As good and attention grabbing as I expect and enjoy from Agatha Christie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2016
Really enjoyed this CD and I love Hugh Fraser reading the story. A must for Agatha Christie fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2015
I loved every page of it.Thank you. Well written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
Thoroughly emjoyable. Always a good read even when you know the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Exciting with Happy ending!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Excellent item as advertised. Very speedy delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2010
I love this story! Admittedly it is more light-hearted than the more familiar classic Christie mysteries, but it's so well done. It has a complicated plot, in a good way, with lots of good characters. The pompous patriotic Lomax, thorn in the flesh of the bumbling lacksadaisical Lord Caterham, who in turn is the father of the live wire that is Lady Eileen "Bundle" Brent, to name but three, all jump off the page. This unabridged audio version is wonderful, read by the excellent Hugh Fraser with just the right light touch. Only the best narrators can "do" all the voices both distinctly and convincingly, especially the opposite sex. I doubt that you will guess whodunnit, and even if you do, there are still more secrets to be revealed at chimneys.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 March 2017
Anthony Cade agrees to undertake a commission for an old friend but he soon finds himself involved in something much more complex and more serious than he expected. A variety of people try to get hold of the manuscript which he is delivering to a London publisher in a variety of ways.

But all the plotting and planning leads the various protagonists to a complex denouement at a country house called Chimneys where Superintendent Battle and a man from the French police as well as various other people are set on finding out the truth.

I found this quite a confusing narrative and I suspect I'm going to need to read it, or listen to it, again to fully understand the various ramifications of the plot. I do like Superintendent Battle as well as Lady Eileen - also known as Bundle - who appears in later books featuring Battle.

It is an enjoyable tale of Ruritanian politics which is having an effect on the international stage and I think you have to read it in the context of the times in which it was written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse