Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2009
As far as Feist goes this is extremely fun to read and is written in much the same style as the last 6 books. However it is often simplistic and you get the impression that the author is just trying to churn out the books due to the publisher's demands.

The storyline is good and introduces a whole new range of powerful characters all of who are magic users. This gives a bit of spice to the story which is often lacking in previous books. However, most of the book consists of the main characters discussing what to do and you get the impression that this book is just setting the scene for the next one.

There is a massive shock ending which involves a bit of action, but a lot more could have been good. The story is rapped up very quickly in the last few pages and lacks emotion. But all in all, a very enjoyable read.
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
having read most of feist's books,enjoying the early ones (up to buccaneer) the most but the more recent ones, more in hope than expectation. i picked this latest one up as i'm a sucker for continuations of story lines and my curiosity got the better of me, but yet and again i have been let down by what i consider to be nothing more than a marketing ploy. the writing is substandard, disjointed and the plot lines very predicable with very little new approaches to story telling, the new characters tired rehashed spin offs & very much a clone of previous books. i feel now that feist is living off past glories and should really put his pen down and leave it to those authors willing to think outside the cliches he runs through, its almost by numbers with this book... if it was marketed for a teenage audience i could almost make a case for it, almost. but if you are a serious reader beware. it will leave you completely unsatisfied. personally i wont be reading anymore new feist books as this put the final nail in the coffin so to speak. check steven erikson for a proper adult storys told like it should be..
44 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
This is awful, too short (more like a prologue than an actual novel), no real story and certainly no real ending, limited plot, no character development, just don't waste your money on this, the majesty that was Magician is long in the past. Having recently read Steven Erikson's books this does not even rank as an also ran, having once set the standard Feist is now a simple journeyman. Avoid at all costs you have read it all before.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
Feist has really returned to form with this book. The Darkwar saga was good but annoying for it's mistakes and rushed feel. This book is great and I am glad Feist is again focusing on what he does best. Excellent background story development and tension building. Also, the pace of this book is superb. You genuinely get the feeling now that Feist is starting to pull all the plot weaves together. ANd this book certainly leaves you guessing.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
All the ingedients for great sci fi, A proven cast of characters with some new ones thrown in. On top of this we have Elves, Drawves, humans,both good and bad and DEMONS. However, I have been left wanting, this great set of ingredients and a total lack of action,on any scale, throughout the book. Raymond E Feist is a writer of great skill as seen in Magician etc, but i can only assume he got a little distracted in this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
It's about on a level with his last effort - whether you think that's a good thing or not will determine whether you buy it. Me? I've been getting REF's books from the library for several years now.

One of the things that bugs me more and more about the never-ending series of Acme War Sagas he churns out is the exposition of story by describing how characters feel. So Tomas is now feeling that what's around the corner could be the worst thing *ever*! And Pug is getting ever-more worried about the prophecy of Lims-Kragma - crumbs, you don't think that means people he loves could get killed in *completely random and meaningless* ways, do you?

So the Valheru were the Big Bad. No they weren't, it was the Pantathians. No! It was the demons who killed the Saaur. Hang on! It's Nalar. Wait a sec, perhaps it's someone completely new that we never suspected until now! Retconning insanity.

I love "Magician" with a passion. It's my favourite fantasy novel. But I wish Ray would just give it a rest now.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Hrmmm....... Oh how to put this....?

Well I have read all of his other Midkemia books. I finished this one pretty sharpish without much effort. Can I say a very much formulaic Fantasy novel? New characters who you could have got out of a cereal box, plot that is minimal and strangely similar to many other novels, I can describe this offering as "meh!" I probably won't bother with the next one unless I visit a library or see it in a charity shop. I may well be done with this series.

Definately get this from a library or borrow from a mate!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
..tales and new worlds coming together. I honestly felt the star elves were under used, but the balance between loro and gula with amirantha and sandreena worked well. It's just that the background was underused. The story was clearly a two parter from the go, but wasn't slow and if anything could have been better with more context. The ending however was sudden and dark. Lyms kragma at her devilish best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
Feist returns with another great book.

Not one of his greatest, but it clearly is setting the scene for future novels.

There are a number of suprises through out the book, especially at the end of it..

Infact I had to read the end a number of times to ensure what I read was correct..

A must for all fans..
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
I enjoyed both this and the following novel At the Gates of Darkness (Demonwar Saga 2). We get some interesting new characters, lose some other long term characters and get a precursor to a whole new threat to Midkemia.
I say precursor becuase the books are a little light and read like the author is simply introducing something much more significant. I think (and hope) that this is no more than a gateway to a new series of volumes (hopefully something as meaty as the orginal Riftwar Saga, the Empire Trilogy or the Serpent War Saga) where the plotting is deeper, story more progressive and we really get to explore the characters and move forward the World that all of us fans have come to know and love.
What really disturbs me about his books is the errors that creep in that should be picked up before publishing. I read about 2-3 books a week and don't see the level of errors anywhere else that seem to crop up in REF's work. Sometimes they can really jolt you out of the story, such as getting a chracters name wrong, so you have to go back and re-read earlier paragraphs. This happens several times per book and is just not professional and does effect my enjoyment of his books...Sort it out HarperCollins!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse