Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
36
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2011
it's wonderful to have this alternate version of the first part of The Once & Future King, but this edition is marred by gormless copyediting that "corrects" much of White's wordplay, destroying part of the book's wit and charm, and sorely disappointing readers who know and love this book. the publishers owe us all a revised edition.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
I read this book when I was a child (pre-teen, I think) and loved it. Then I grew up and decided I should read more 'grown-up' books, so I bought T. H. White's 'The Once and Future King'. That contains a version of 'The Sword in the Stone', but that version is pitched at adults and the magic is different. Yes, Wart is still turned into animals, but there's no battle with Madam Mim!

For years I promised myself that I'd buy this book. I'm glad I did. It's like meeting an old friend that you haven't seen for years.

If you have a pre-teen/early-teens child who enjoys funny stories about magic, this is a good book to give them. If you're an over-grown kid who likes funny stories about magic, like me, get this book. If you're an adult who wants more 'grown-up' Arthurian stories, get 'The Once and Future King'. They're both good books.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2005
This is undoubtedly one of the best books I have ever read, and is highly deserving of its place as a 'classic'. Unfortunately, to many people being dubbed a classic suggests that a book must be boring. Far from it! Forget Disney's rendition of 'The Sword in the Stone', because it doesn't come anywhere near the literary prowess, intricate descriptions and luxurious fantasy of this masterpiece. If, on the other hand, you have seen the film 'Excalibur' then you have an idea of the immensely wise, slightly insane and incredibly funny character of Merlin that you will meet in this book.

White tells a fascinating story, builds interesting and enjoyable characters and fleshes the story out with excellent descriptions of bygone pursuits, such as falconry and questing, ancient customs and agriculture, interwoven with magic that spans centuries and civilisations at times. The character of Merlin is particularly enjoyable, and although the book is perhaps a little slow in the first couple of chapters, once Merlin comes on the scene we are whisked off on one magical journey after another.

Read it, enjoy it. Maybe even share it with a child! Like all the best "children's literature", this book is just as entertaining for adults.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
It's a frustrating book, because there are chapters as good as anything in children's literature, like the joust (which made my sides hurt with laughter the first time I read it) and the boar hunt which conveys both the beauty of a deep-winter day and the thrill of the chase. But others are boring and self-indulgent expositions of the author's philosophy, or his personal interest in falconry; I wanted to skip them as a kid and I still want to skip them now. It's like a Dickens serial: you get a bit of this and a bit of that in each instalment, and favourite characters are brought back every so often to liven things up.

However I think T H White got inside the medieval mind, with all its generosity and strangeness, much better than most modern historians. It's worth reading just for his incomparable re-creation of those times, pitched between the way they probably seemed to those who lived through them and an unashamedly romanticised modern view.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
This is one of the strangest books I've ever read. Here's a list of some of its qualities (in no particular order). This book is: bizarre; entertaining; erudite; surreal; inventive; free (of most accepted writing conventions); sloppy; funny; characterful; wilfully inconsistent; (randomly) indebted to Shakespeare; (randomly) informative; (randomly) opinionated; (randomly) time-travelling; (consistently) random. I'm giving it four stars on account of the fact that despite all of the above I read it to the end and enjoyed doing so, which gets more impressive the more I think about it. Apparently it's about the Young King Arthur, who like many a young man was fond of mounching on mercy-flavoured bread, which of course has yet to be invented...

Gregory Heath, author of 'The Entire Animal'.

The Entire Animal
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
Anyone coming to this via Disney is in for either a shock or a pleasant surprise. For me it was the latter. It isn't a particularly easy read for a child but worth the effort, if only for the descriptions of the realities of jousting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 12 December 2002
Firstly, I would like to say the previous reviewer is a chump. Ornithology indeed! Yes, White knew a lot about birds of prey, having kept them, and his knowledge and feeling for them make up some of the best details of the Wart's transformation into a hawk as part of his education by Merlin. Yet that leaves out all the rest - what it feels like to swim as a fish, to grow as a tree, to cower as a snake. All of these magical experiences come together when the boy Wart gathers his strength to finally lift the sword from the stone, and become King Arthur.
If you only know this story from the Disney version, think again. It's a hundred times funnier, more gripping and less crude - the one thing Disney added were the self-washing plates, which I seem to recall appearing in Sleeping Beauty too. The bits about Sir Pelinnor and the Questing Beast a trifle heavy-handed, but otherwise it's a feast. Don't bother with the subsequent novels, though.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2011
The cover quality was a little disappointing, but the book is great, such fun, and witty humour. It felt like "Three men on a boat" or something akin to that sort of humour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2000
I started, and couldn't help myself. This book is dangerously addictive and entertaining; I warn those who posses enough courage to pick the book up, as they shall be forever enthralled by it's charm and wittyness. A great read, and beggining to T.H.White's exciting version of Artherian Legend!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I bought this book for my 9 year old sister on her birthday, i bought it on ber Kindle sbe was tben readjng it everyday!

Rshe absoloutely loved it!

Your Sincerely/Kind Regards/Yours Faithfully

Mrs. Ava Lily Walsh

xxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse