Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 September 2008
Okay, first things first. If you haven't read any of the previous novels in the Temeraire series then don't start with Victory of Eagles. This is a continuation of a single story arc that starts with the first book in the series 'Temeraire'. Go and start there; you will not be disappointed that you did.

For those already familiar with the series however, Victory of Eagles is another highly enjoyable entry and to be recommended. It isn't the strongest of the five novels published so far. As other reviewers have pointed out it lacks some of the depth and warmth of characterisation displayed in previous episodes and isn't quite as satisfying a stand alone read as Temeraire or Empire of Ivory. If asked to make a direct comparison I would put alongside Black Powder War, which I found too episodic and meandering to be fully satisfying.

Still, fans of the series (of which I am one) will find little to really complain about. As always I look forward to seeing what happens to Temeraire and Lawrence in their next (exotic) adventure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
A beautifully written series of books. The characters are fabulous and it is wonderful to see the relationship between the Dragon, Temeraire, and his handler/owner/friend, Captain William Laurence and set at the time of Napoleon Bonaparte.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
A continuous duration of the Temeraire series, this time set in the UK. Political manoeuvring and interesting references to the anti-slavery league. Well paced story, difficult to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
Despite a few flaws, such as the grand battle being so short changed and others that have in truth been present all series if we are honest, this is actually my favourite Tem book yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I have enjoyed this series ever since the first book. Whilst others have left something to be desired this book was a gripping read that I couldn't put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
My sons kindle is linked to my account. I can only assume that has he has purchased the entire series in order that they must be very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Need to read the preceding books in the series to appreciate. A good read if you enjoy fantasy. Plenty of action and very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
Really great read. I can't wait for book 6 called The Tongues of Serpents The Tongues of Serpents (Temeraire 6)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
Love the Temeraire books and have the whole series, once you read one you are hooked. Can't wait for the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
this is a must read if you have read the others. Excellently written by a brilliant author, I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse