Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

In "Mummy Come Home", Oxana Kalemi, a young Ukrainian, documents the horrific life of hardship and cruelty that she suffered.

Oxana starts the book by outlining life in the Ukraine which soon shows that life even with her parents is hard. Sexual abuse is the name of the game for Oxana and is the theme throughout the book - getting worse and worse and worse. You read on and you begin to think things cannot get any worse for her and then it does. She finally lands up in England at a sauna in Birmingham where she has to service up to 15 clients a night.

It is a harrowing story and does not make for comfortable reading. I think we tend to know about these sort of happenings, but until you read a book such as this, you do not realise the extent and true horror of it.

Oxana is very brave and courageous and hopefully one day things will work out for her and her life will get better. Doubtless whatever happens the events she has written of in her book will always haunt her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Mummy, Come Home: The True Story of a Mother Kidnapped and Torn from Her Children

This is the best book i have ever read, i knew such things happened in our world, but i never had any idea how scary it would be to live in that world. Oxana Kalemi is an amazing woman who has had so many obsticles in life already, she is an inspiration to me and i advise everyone to read this wether your male or female. I couldn't put it down, i sat in bed until early hours of the morning reading, then thought about what might happen next all day at work. I feel truley touched by Oxana's story and wish her the best of luck in her battle to reunite with her children. This story taught me to never give up, as you just don't know what might be around the corner.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
I'm not going to give away any of the plot line as to experience Oxana's true story in the way she intended you need to read it in her own words. The subject matter is harrowing, yet what shines through is the courage and determination of a young woman to do what's right for her children. This book ought to be a wake up call to the authorities and to anyone who turns a blind eye when they ought to take action. Oxana's voice will stay with you long after you've finished this.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
This was one of the most interesting, heart-twisting stories I'd read all year and despite its dark subject matter I found it hard to put down.
You find yourself empathising with the author who became a mum very young after already going through some horrific experiences, and it is amazing how she comes out of her ordeal with her spirit still intact.
Unbelievable that this goes on in 21st Century Europe! A must-read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
This was ghost-written (it says so at the end). The ghostwriter went for a Daily Mail, sensationalist kind of feel and approach. I was hoping to read a true story that included a fairly realistic psychological portrayal of the main woman it zooms in on. But the ghost-writer didn't bother to try and slip into this woman's mind at all. We get this wooden, simpleton type character who is just always playing victim, self-loathing and extolling shame. Telling tales of 1001 abuses in a graphic manner. It's just indulging the public in salacious stories. It feels wrong. Reading this I felt like I was watching abuse getting abused.

It ends with an advert for a charity. Distasteful!

Sex trafficking, rape and modern slavery are deeply serious issues. There WAS a chance to tell a true story that would have raised important issues in the public eye. Instead, it was wasted in favour of sensationalism.

At least you can still glean the story underneath all the layers of insensitive sensationalism and money-grabbing publicists. It's a deeply sad, terrifying, and most of all : a very important story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I was glued to this book...it was very upsetting to read at times, but I still couldn't put it down...I hope she was reunited with her children....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
An absolutely fantastic book written by a strong young lady. I can guarantee that i will read this book again and again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
A GREAT READ AND AN INSIGHT INTO THE WORLD OF WOMEN TRAFFICKING .A WOMAN TRAPPED WITH NO HOPE OF ESCAPE
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2011
I bought this book on the back of the other reviews and unlike them was quite disappointed. Yes, the author had a hard life in her goal to get her children back but the story became mundane as each time she was sold you just knew what was going to happen. I would have liked these chapters to be shorter and for the book to be finished where she is reunited with her children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
Such an unbelievably brave and selfless woman. I couldn't put this book down despite how sad it was. It's difficult to comprehend how anyone could have to endure so much at such a young age. I truly hope she finds peace and happiness. I would love to know if she is reunited with her children, I pray she is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)