Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
44
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2017
I have been a Freemason for nearly 30 years, so bought this book out of curiosity. Much of it was made up for effect by the author.
I have never known freemasonry to do anything but good, and this book is scattered with some fact and fiction.
I can appreciate that a non freemason may believe all he reads, but would advise against this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
I bought this book for information and it gives a picture of the Freemasons in the UK and other countries. It is a little dated and very definitely not an entertaining read but then it was intended as an expose and does give away some secrets. So worth buying if you want to know some of the inside workings of Freemasons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
It was extremely helpful for someone who needed an understanding of Freemason. Excellent and well written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
I bought this book as a paperback years ago when I was looking for factual information and unbiased opinions about freemasonry. It is absolutely full of amazing facts .. the author's depth of knowledge on the subject is truly impressive. I had no idea that there were 33 degrees of freemasonry, not just the 3 that most of us know about. A fabulous informative book. Such a shame that the author died before he was able to update it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Having read this interesting book I was somewhat disappointed. I was expecting a balanced in depth exploration of the masons in the UK, what I got was rather a witch hunt. This seems to have been written from the standpoint that there is a significant issue with Masonry and the writer gathering information to support his hypothesis, rather than the point of researching and then drawing conclusions based upon the evidence collected.
Really disapointing
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
As we mark the demise of investigative journalism across the world, Stephen Knight represented the true spirit of journalism and wrote a unique and striking account of a world hidden to most people. This is a superb book which should be read by all people who want to see a glimpse of what goes on behind closed doors to the general uninitiated public. Objective and wide-ranging authorship in the finest tradition. Read this, or stay asleep to what is going on in the world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2017
This is a really interesting book that takes a closer look into the influences of Freemasonry in various areas of professional life, and vanquishes, or, at least, attempts to, vanquish some long held myths about this long established secret society. The areas of religion and politics are also examined in relation to The Brotherhood, but, if you are looking for an in depth look at the customs and practices involved, then you won't find them here. It makes me wonder whether Orwell, in his masterpiece, Nineteen Eighty Four, by naming the pseudo underground movement featured in the novel 'The Brotherhood' was a nod to Freemasonry. Just a theory! I also discovered the significance of the black horse logo used by Lloyds Bank! But I don't want to spoil it for you! In addition, there was a Norwegian drama series on T.V recently called Mammon and I thought it was a Norwegian word, until I read this book, and, turns out it's English! Go Figure! Anyway, I found it to be a very informative book, and I learned a lot from it. One final caveat though, there's a lot to take in, so I recommend reading it in manageable amounts, or you'll scunner yourself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Most of this book is not only dull but now, having read the whole thing, I'm really none the wiser about freemasonry. Knight often quotes supposed 'sources' and talks about particular cases without wanting to reveal names and generally waffles on at length without getting anywhere. For example, there are numerous chapters on the police and he discusses at length such interviews he has had with various ranks of policemen who indicate that freemasonry is possibly (mainly in the past) widespread throughout the organisation, especially at the top. How much it influences promotions and the like he's not sure and leaves it to the reader to decide but either way, you’re still none the wiser about freemasonry.

Some of the later chapters are more of interest, especially the one on the City of London, where he gives some insights into this Vatican-like state that most people no little (if anything) about. Also, he reveals towards the end some of the ritual ceremonies that he presumably witnessed which give at least some insight but not a lot. Overall, very little to be learnt or garnered about freemasonry, hence the rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
To be honest, very boring, very one-sided and very focused on the police. Reads like it is written by someone who revels in conspiracy theories and who likes to recycle material he dug out decades ago
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Excellent research on this seemingly altruistic institution but a frightening secret group. The Royals and other 'Big shots' - all in it with a handshake. Unbelievable!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)