Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2015
Loved the book! It is gorgeous and I mostly paid for shipping, it is almost like a gift from the shop! Amazing! Full of pictures and superb quality
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2007
I have been looking for a book like this for a while - photography books are usually very specific, too general, written for dummies etc.

This books strikes a good balance and would make an ideal gift for someone new to photography or someone with a little more experience, looking for a guide/reminder full of hints and tips..

Digital cameras mean that everyone can have ago at being creative and this book provides plenty of advice and information for all skill levels.

I would recommend this book at this price...
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
I bought this on the strength of the other review and it was spot on. A really good book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
Please be aware that if you buy the Kindle version, there is not a single photograph - quite a failing for a photography book, and making the Kindle edition stunningly bad value, compared to the cheaper proper book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
Bought this as a reference book to help me with photography, as I am completely new to it and have just started an AS level in it. There are very clear colour photographs on nearly every page, which are really enjoyable to look at, and the writing itself is very clearly written and easy to understand. I like how it also shows a diagram of the parts to a SLR camera, explaining what they all do etc. Overall, I'd recommend this to any photography fan, novice or professional.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
I'm not a professional photographer though I try hard to get the best results I can, I find this manual a great help in most aspects of photography. I purchased a copy as a birthday present for a friend who is also an enthusiastic photographer (Better than me!) and she calls it her photographic bible for all matters regarding photography, she recomends it to all her friends as do I.
Well worth the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
This is a very comprehensive illustrated guide that covers all aspects of photography from basic composition to the latest digital darkroom techniques. Advice on choosing the correct camera and understanding the effect that different lenses can make, to achieve the best images. It also covers techniques such as image manipulation, which are illustrated with outstanding images and accompanied by easy-to-follow text. There are separate sections on different themes such as landscapes, nature, still life and sports, animals, architecture, weddings, and how to photograph excellent portraits. In addition, there are professional tips throughout to help you avoid potential pit falls and show you how to get the best out of your camera whether digital or film, it will also raise your level of understanding in photography. In general, an excellent book which should be on every photographers book shelf, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
About the book...

The concepts and the editing is very good. A masterpiece as introductive book of photography.

I didnt buy it to learn how to take great pictures, I did just because as novice filmmaker I needed to learn more about composition. This book explains the main concepts of photography and teaches you how to take the subject much more seriusly. The language is very simple and written in plain english.

If you need a manual to refer to buy it; if you know the basics already then avoid it.

Overall a great text plenty of pictures and and advices which can help you to improve your work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Not the sort of book you would want or even need to carry around with you.. but a great read .. and fantastic photos that should be enjoyed by everyone ... not just for photographers. Keep it on your coffee table.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
Wow! What an amazing book for only a few pounds. Beautifully written and produced, this hardback book is illustrated in full colour and guides you through every step. Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)