Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2015
Entertaining and enlightening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2009
This book makes some very serious points. Many of us scoff at the homeopaths and nutritionists but these 21st Century Shamen can affect public policy, to a frightening degree. The results of their propaganda can impact on our lives even if we know that it is all garbage because mass acceptance (or significant minority acceptance) has an affect on all of us (through phenomena like reduction in herd immunity or simply wasting our taxes on quack schemes).

Goldacre marshalls robust arguments and leavens these with a wry wit. My personal favourite line is "Gillian McKeith, or to give her full medical title, Gillian McKeith".

Sure, he can seem a bit condescending at times, but so what? As he says to his "opponents", you win. They remain very rich and far too many people listen to the nonsense they spout.

But if the eyes of just a few are opened by this book (although it is most likely to be read by those who don't need it) then this polemic will have served a very useful purpose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Waste of paper and ink.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
Not much to add to the other 60-odd 5-star reviews except buy this book! It's a real eye-opener, exposing the metric ton of intellectual-offal rammed down our throats day to day.

Most people interested in this book probably try to apply a bit of critical thinking to their everyday lives, but when confronted with so much 'woo' it's sometimes hard to express why it's 'woo'. This book helps reveal the simple lies we are told, and the simple methods to use to expose them for what they are.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
I am always struggling to explain to my non-scientific friends exactly what is wrong with medical journalism, expensive face creams, detox treatments and other psuedoscientific scams. This book explains such things far better than I am able to. A victory for common sense. All school kids should be taught this kind of thing in science class. It's also the best explanation of how to critically review a scientific study that I've seen in four years at medical school...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Great - 15 yr old loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
The testament for skeptics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2016
Great book, arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
I think this book has been around for some time but I've only just come across it. As with other authors of this general persuasion in other areas of human activity (Dawkins, Hitchens, Dennett etc), those whom Goldacre targets as examples of bad practice in his thesis will, most likely, put the book down (or throw it out the window) as soon as their sacred cow comes under his forensic gaze. I don't know if it's intentional or not but Goldacre does give his dectractors some ammunition in the way he writes. Although he's on the money as far as I'm concerned, he can sound bad-tempered and dismissive at times.
However, his evidence-based analysis of what is happening in 'big pharma' and 'complementary medicine' is illuminating and his advice on how to interpret claims and studies so as not to be duped by self-serving quacks and journalists is well- explained and invaluable. In short - good science!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Quick delivery , good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)