Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2017
Great book. Ideal for the absolute beginner. No previous knowledge required.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Very good and will recomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Brilliant would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Good for a beginner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
I bought this book for my Mum, as she'd decided to take up Watercolours, something she had NEVER done before. I just wanted to give her a bit of encouragement and understanding.
She loves it!!!!! and hence is really enjoying the classes she attends to weekly.........Result!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
I wanted a straightforward, easy to follow book as I am newcomer not just to Watercolour painting but art in general, and it does what it says on the tin. 'Watercolour for the Absolute beginner' is just what I was looking for in a book. It guides you from what tools and materials to and buy and follows on about how to use them. For me who always had an interest in art and drawing (but not very good) it takes you step by step on how to produce flowers, people, fruit, buildings etc. It's an all-in-one book which demystifies the whole idea of "you have to have a natural talent" to be an artist.

An excellent recommendation to anyone who has thought of taking up a new hobby. I am a crafter and this will enable me to include a new aspect into my crafting projects in the future.

Beautifully illustrated book and well written.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner is actually a collection of 3 books that were published earlier, namely You Can Paint Watercolors by Alwyn Crawshaw, You Can Paint People in Watercolour by Sharon Finmark and You Can Paint Animals in Watercolour by Trevor Waugh.

It's now sold together as a 224-page paperback at a wonderful bundle price.

This is probably the least intimidating watercolour book I've seen. The exercises are short and easy to follow. It shouldn't take more than 15-30 minutes to complete each one.

The examples are simple, usually a single subject, like a banana or some grapes. Even for the landscape paintings, there are also very few elements included. The simple examples are great in a way because they build confidence.

What's lacking is perhaps the section on colour theory. It teaches basic colour mixing, with simple recipes provided in all the exercises. But it doesn't talk about colour harmony, like how some colours work well with others. Anyway, you can get another book for that called Watercolor Artist's Guide to Exceptional Color by Jan Hart.

This book is highly recommended to watercolour beginners who want something less intimidating. Or if you want something more challenging, but still suitable for beginners, check out Complete Watercolour Course by John Raynes.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
11 Comment| 129 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although this book says it is for the absolute beginner, it is still a valuable resource for improvers or for developing skills if moving from, say, landscape or flower painting to figurative painting. It is particularly strong on painting people and animals with lots of exercises to follow, and to repeat, until you get the technique and some decent results. This isn't a quick fix and you won't be painting like a pro (or like the artists in this book) overnight. However, constant practice following the exercises and suggestions in this book, will develop your skills and help to develop your own style. It is important, too, not to get disheartened if your efforts don't match the exercises - the book includes the work of three professional artists/art teachers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
Ever since I watched Alwyn Crawshaw's Channel 4 series on watercolours for beginners back in the 1980s, I've thought I ought to test my skills with a paintbrush. With retirement came the opportunity! Crawshaw is one of the three authors of this readable book and it's an easy read. Even if you don't intend painting, the book is interesting. From sketching and painting a banana through to sweeping landscapes and portraiture, it's all here. Tips on what brushes to use, which pencil leads to employ, the colour pans to buy, the paper quality to use and - most important of all - the tricks of the trade. Painting wet-on-wet has provided me with some wonderfully leaden skies and I never realised before that bit of sponge could be used so creatively to produce cloud cover. I don't think I'll be pursuing each and every lesson but I find myself regularly dipping into the book for advice and inspiration or simply to marvel at how experts can so effortlessly use contrast and colour washes to deliver a variety of striking images. Ever thought how you create waterscapes with sunlight glinting on the surface of the sea? Easy. Read this book!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)