Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
57
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2011
This is the third instalment in the Demonata series and honestly it's not that great. I found that one of the biggest problems I had with the book was how boring and slow it was at the start( which is something every writer should avoid) In the book we are reunited with Grubbs Grady ( another problem I have with the book, all the names are stupid! but I would accept that if it was based in another world or whatever but it's based in our world so it just doesn't make sense)Anyway his uncle is recovering from the traumatic events of the first book when they are offered the chance to lend their expertise on a horror film set that's based on..... yep you guess it Demons!! Up until that point the book is very boring and once they turn up on the set the book is still boring!! But... it does warm up when Grubbs starts to notice some problems like people disappearing and the demons are a little too realistic. From that point onwards the books actually quite good but it's kind of like the old saying "too little too late". But overall it was entertaining enough to make me finish the book but I wouldn't be reading it again. Il finish on a low with the announcement of my biggest problem with the book and that is.......the story. I feel that the writer is focused so much on the horror and trying to give us Goosebumps that he has completely forgot the context of the story which is so disappointing because when Darren Shan does focus on the story they are one of the best stories around. Also the characters are not likable whatsoever and I genuinely couldn't give to hoots whether they were all sliced up into millions of pieces by the demons or not. If you are considering these then my advice to you would be to look at the Darren Shan Saga which is Amazing!! but if you have already read them then yeah you can give these a go but don't expect the same high standard from his other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
This is one of my favourites of this series - it's really creative and I can totally see a director using real monsters to make the movie better!
However - Grubbs does make a lot of very outdated sexist comments and being embarrassed about being outdone by women and such wich made it a little less fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 November 2006
Darren Shan is at the top of his form in his latest masterpiece of gruesome demons and terror. This third book in the DEMONATA series picks up where THE DEMON THIEF left us. Dervish is almost back to normal. Grubitsch Grady, better known as Grubbs, and his half-brother, Bill-E, are trying to live a normal life without demons. A group called The Lambs want to take Bill-E to their lab and observe and test him to see if he is really cured of lycanthropy. Uncle Dervish and Grubbs are certainly not going to allow that. Then Dervish is approached by acclaimed horror movie producer, David A. Haym, or "Davida," who wants Dervish to be a consultant on her new film. She has resurrected a ghost town and renamed it Slawter. Her masterpiece will have a demon theme, and Dervish, of course, is a demon expert.

The demons that romp through SLAWTER seem all too real to Grubbs and he begins to wonder whether more than filming is afoot when strange happenings disrupt the set and the filming. He can't seem to convince Uncle Dervish that real demons are on the loose, and are not just ingenious costumes. People begin to disappear. Is Lord Loss back in business?

Darren Shan broke new ground with his bestselling CIRQUE DU FREAK series, and now his DEMONATA series promises to be as great a hit with the kids. Shan is a master at characterization and plotting, and the fear factor raises your goose-bumps to a new height. I would not recommend this series for children ages ten and under, but for older kids that love scary stories with lots of gruesome gore, this book fits that category. The reluctant readers will love this exciting, horrific story.

Reviewed by: Grandma Bev
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2008
The book takes off where Lord Loss ended, with Grubbs, Bill-E and Dervish Grady all try to live a normal life. Then a horror movie director invites them to come an join her as they film Slawter, the most realistic demon film ever.
But who is this director really working for?
Why are children going missing?
And why are the Demons on set looking realistic... too realistic?

Lord Loss is back, and wants revenge on Grubbs.

BUY THE BOOK! It's brilliant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
I haven't gotten into darren shan's new series about the demonata until I read this book.

This is the best book in the series yet

Basically dervish is asked to help a famous horror director to make a movie about demons

Dervish knowing all about these demons accepts the offer but doesn't know that it is all a set up of lord loss's to kill Dervish, Grubbs and Bill-E

This really is a great story with a lot of unexpected events and terrifying events. It kept me reading until 2 in the mornin' and I'm sure it will do the same with.

Welcome to the town of Slawter
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2006
The third book in the demonata series where the narative reins are passed back to grubbs. It is several months after the events of Lord Loss and Dervish is going mad, attacking Grubbs in his sleep. Then a cult director Davida Hyme invites Dervish to help her with a new film that she is making about demons. But the demons aren't as fake as you'd believe

Easily the best book of the series where you get to see the growing of grubbs's magical abilitys and how Lord Loss fights.

It can easily be read as a stand alone novel even if you have never read the first (lord loss) I strongly recomend this to anyone (if you don't mind blood and gore as its probobly the gorest book ever)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
We are back with Grubbs, a year has passed since his first encounter with Lord Loss, Dervish is having horrible nightmares and Grubbs is struggling to pull him back from that darkness. Until they are invited to be consultants on a new horror film. The Producer/Director has heard that Dervish is a master of information on demons and wants to use that knowledge to make a super realistic Demon film, the only problem it - things start to get a little bit too realistic when real Demons show up. But with actors and costumes everywhere, who will believe Grubbs when he tries to unearth them.

I liked Grubbs a lot more in this book, he's grown up a lot and is really coming into his own, he's stronger and plans ahead more.

I read this one really quickly again, I just couldn't seem to stop reading. It's so gripping I had to know what would happen, there are a lot of surprise twists and turns and loads of excitement. Again there was some gore and quite bloody scenes, but I've come to expect that from this series and it didn't seem as bad as the first book, for me that one was the most shocking and therefore had the biggest effect. I'd still caution anyone easily scared, squeamish or younger readers.

Very enjoyable and I look forward to reading the rest of the series. Got to wait for the next book to arrive though...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2007
The 3rd book in the Demonata and we're back with my favorite characters Grubbs and Dervish.

To fully appreciate this book you need to read the Lord Loss and Demon Thief first, but I think you'd still enjoy this book even if you haven't read the previous 2.

I couldn't put this book down and was left hungry for more at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2006
This book is the best out of the three bokks made in the Demonata series. I still think this even though I absoloutely loved the second book (Demon Thief). This contains the best contents of the first two books. The character Grubbs (who I preffered) and the extremely descriptive feelings from Lord Loss, and the gore and spookiness from Demon Thief. These things combined make this book chillingly descriptive on every topic included in the book. Once again, Darren Shan proves to be one of the best writers for teenagers today.

The book picks up where we left Dervish, Bill-E and Grubbs in Lord Loss.

Dervish is still shaken up after being in the Demonata universe. A famous horror film director wants to make a new movie on demons. He somehow knows that Dervish knows all about demons, and so, invites him to the town of Slawter to help with his film. Dervish, of couse, accepts the offer of the director hoping this will be a fun break. Drevish invites Grubbs and Bill-E to come with him. But, unknown to them, this mysterious director is working for Lord Loss, and is setting a trap for the new visitors!

All the characters have the same personalities, and so do the demons! The demons include the infamous Vein, Artery, Lord Loss, and, on the cover of the book, we see Cadaver. There are many twists and unexpected turns in the plot. The ending is very good, leaving Darren Shan a good opening into the next book about Grubbs. The battle at the end is really scary, it is a blood shed battle between the humans and the demons, explained in gory detail.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
Slawter, the 3rd book in the Demonata series and still aims to please. This book carries on from Lord Loss (Book 1) And your back as Grubbs.

Grubbs, Dervish and Bill-E try to live a normal life after the horrific events back at Lord Loss. But it all seems to good to be true for it to end there, as they encounter with a horror movie director, knowing Dervish's speciality, they asked for his help and took Grubbs and Bill-E along for the ride. But it sounds great right? Being a part and watching a horror movie being shot? Wrong!

Children have gone missing.
The demons look too realistic than some movie prop?
What's the directors intentions?

Lord Loss has returned, not forgetting his shameful defeat in the first book, and he's more hungry than ever. What is to become of Grubbs?

Find out for yourself and get this book! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse