Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2015
First Philippa Gregory book I have read. Very much better written than most historical books I have read before - importantly containing some strong, likeable characters and a convincing and fast paced storyline. Particularly good if you have an interest in gardening, or what life was like in the 17th century. Couldn't care less whether a few pedantic historical buffs are critical. This brings the period to life for me. I shall read more instantly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Fantastic. Enjoyed every moment of this. Informative & very well written. Also not quite as 'vivid' as Earthly Joys so an 'easier' read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
I have red this book in the cold winter in Scotland. What a joy this book brings with its precise description of flowers , seen through the great gardeners eye. What a brilliant man he was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
This book covers a period of British history rarely tackled in historical novels.
It gives insight into the period whilst maintaining a strong story line. The story is always gripping and never predictable as we're the Times it encompasses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Another exceptionally good read so many historical references excellent descriptions throughout can't wait for next book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Excellent book and looking forward to reading about next generation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
An enthralling read, continuing the story of the Tradescant family. Fascinating insight into the development of gardening in this country as well as showing what it was like for various tiers of society during the Civil War. The sequences in the New World showed what it must have been like for the settlers in America and the appalling treatment of the Native Americans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Really, really enjoyed this book Phillipa Gregory at her best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
RECIEVED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
This story is a 'Rain Man' type tale in other words, here you have a character, slightly humourless, as one of his mental condition would be expected to be.
It makes one sympathetic to a person so afflicted, but there's nothing morbid about the story he tells, which even has a 'sort-of' happy ending, stay with it , when you read it, you wont be disappointed - believe me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here