Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
Good easy reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2006
In this book Bryan Gallagher reminisces about his life growing up near the shores of Lough Erne in Fermanagh. Every chapter is quite short and contains a different story. It's a beautiful book and very easy to read. The innocence of the country people living in the 40s and 50s is told and shows how witty they were even when they were trying to be serious. I highly recommend this book. Anyone who enjoys this will also enjoy Frank Delaneys' 'Ireland' book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2006
Bryan Gallagher, an occasional contributor to the late John Peel's "Home Truths", on Radio 4, reminisces about growing up in rural County Fermanagh in the forties. A time of poverty, deprivation, ignorance and yet love, joy, humour and music. This was a sparse yet close-knit community, where schoolchildren more often than not went to school barefoot, where there was no radio, TV, phone, electricity. Cars were a rarity. One is struck by how recent it was and how much life has changed - but we've also lost something. You don't have to be Irish or old or to live in the country, to appreciate this - these short stories would appeal to anyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2006
Bryan Gallagher has brought together what amounts to a local history and beautiful storytelling. The stories have a timelessness and depth that fit every community. This isn't just about Ireland wherever you live you will connect with this gem.
Buy, dip into and enrich your life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
I had read this book in paperback, but the audio version is just absolutely fabulous..... read by my old School Principal, the author himself it transports you right back almost live to his boyhood to the event of the day or night, when many of his stories happened amid the townlands and villages of lovely Fermanagh...... an account of his life growing up, his family, community, and the Starlight Showband made up of many short stories about events, some utterly hilarious while others more reminiscent and sad. As he reads the books aloud you realise he's not actually just reading from print, but fondly taking a trip back in time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Never received it i waited for quite a few weeks never got the book just awaiting an apology from amazon as i am a regular customer this will change after this episode
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
To mirror the above quote, this is an 'utterly charming and beautiful book,' I too, cannot recommend Bryan Gallagher's collection highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
A collection of short stories written by a very gifted author. I wish all my reading experiences were as enjoyable as what I had with this/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Please write more!!!! The stories were gripping and magical and told in that unique Irish way!

Could read over and over!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Excellent. Funny, true and well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)