Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
49
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2014
I have been a fan of George MacDonald Fraser since the publication of the original book. I bought the E-Book to check a fact. I read it some years ago. Loved it then and again now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Once again, a great story with my favorite hero "Flashy" Flashman! Written humorous, the author combines historical with the fictional life of the protagonist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
Typical Flashnan book, good fun, tongue in cheek historical fiction. Already looking to the next few books in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2000
Any existing Flashman fans will be cheering that at long last there is a new volume in the series, the first for several years. Anybody who is a stranger to this phenomenon in historical novel series (as bestsellers they are counted as mainstream fiction) is no doubt wondering what all the fuss is about.
Flashman is the cowardly bully from Tom Brown's Schooldays who grows up to become a hero, featuring in almost every 19th century campaign and adventure from 1839 onwards. Really he just wants to stay out of the way and live a quiet, pleasure-filled life with his wife's millions and lots of women, but somehow he just can't stay out of trouble and gets into the most extravagant scrapes.
Where it differs from other tales of derring-do is the meticulous research and first-rate writing skills of the author, coupled with the highly readable and first-person voice of Flashman himself as he tells us all about it. The reader is there along with him, plunging through the jungles of Sarawak with Brooke or charging with the Light Brigade.
In this new volume we have three stories instead of the usual one. They also all feature an older Flashman than we have seen him before as they deal with the years 1878-1891. The first one is of novella length and tells of an adventure involving larger-than-life reporter Blowitz and certain goings-on aboard the Orient Express...the second story (set in 1890) we have the Prince of Wales and the Tranby-Croft Affair where one of the Prince's friends is accused of cheating at cards. Fraser has a humorous and imaginative twist on what might have happened.
In the final story we have Rorke's Drift, the Zulus and the villainous Moran who is out for Flashman's blood - but why? ...As usual Fraser blends fact seamlessly with fiction and comes up with something with as much zip and rattle as a Boy's Own Paper adventure but with a scholarly background. You can read this book in public and nobody will deride you for reading a historical novel!
Reviewed by Rachel A. Hyde in Devon, UK for The Charlotte Austin Review in Toronto, Canada
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 1999
If you have an interest in 19th Century World History there can be no better eyes to view it with than Harry Paget Flashman VC. He first came to prominence in Tom Hughes "Tom Browns School Days" when he roasted the little toadie against an open fire in order to persuade him to hand over his Derby Sweepstakes Favourite. Through circumstances that can only be described as "jolly bad luck" and "damn stupidity" Flashman found himself quivering his way through almost every major battle throughout the Victorian era. First documented in the late 1960's by George MacDonald Fraser (the United Kingdoms greatest living writer) whose autobiography "Quartered Safe Out Here" is the most impressive depiction of the realities of fighting in the Burma campaign (the audio cassette version, read by the author is a superb way to spend a long car journey). The Flashman series of books are; in publication order (although not Charge, Flashman in the Great Game, Flashman's Lady, Flashman and the Red Skins, Flashman and the Dragon, Flashman and the Mountain of Light, Flashman and the Angel of the Lord. Flashman and the Tiger was first published as a short story in the Daily Mail in 1975 and devotees have been champing at the bit to read the full account of our hero. There are many websites dedicated to the life and times of Flashy, the best, naturally being the British one >>
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
A great romping read. More tales of daring do from the hero of the age, even as an old man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Not bad. Not the best Flashman book I have ever read but good entertainment value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Loved the twisty in the tale and the inclusion of Sherlock Holmes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Great story, as I expected from this very funny author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 1999
I have dearly loved Flashman since I opened the pages of the first Flashman novel in 1973. Flashman & the Tiger deals with three episodes from his late middle age and early old age and is as good the best of the novels with colourful settings (Mittel Europe, a bleak country house in Yorkshire,Rorke's Drift) great characters (Emperor Franz Joseph, Prince Teddy and Sherlock Holmes among others), brilliant writing and thrilling plot twists. While Flashman's physical powers are in decline his mental faculties are sharper than ever and he is an inspiration to live our lives more fully. Hugely enjoyable and full of worldly wisdom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse