Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
28
3.9 out of 5 stars
Finding Moonshine: A Mathematician's Journey Through Symmetry
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 October 2017
Pissed off 'cos I left it on the train. Might have to get it again - du Sautoy has a great informal style, but total enthusiasm and a knack for getting abstract maths across.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I have read a couple of Marcus du Satoys books before and liked them. Finding Moonshine does not disappoint. I like his style of writing and the way he tells the story of symmetry and mathematics. Highly recommend it to anyone interested in math or just looking gor an interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
Again Du Sautoy brings the somewhat dry area of mathematic history to life with his passion and eagerness to share his excitement.

Du Sautoy makes accessible otherwise impassable peaks of thought in the area at hand, symmetry, and nicely interweaves this with auto-biographical ruminations and fable-like tales of mathematicians of old. The mix sometimes comes across as a little contrived, but always acts as a low effort entry point to what can be complex areas, making the book again a joy to read. Recommended for anyone with even a slight mathematical interest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
I bought this book on recommendation, because I was interested in a popular account of the Monster group. I've finally had to give up reading it, because it ultimately turns out to be a historical review of the figures involved in the long history of the mathematics of symmetry, with virtually no actual information about symmetry. All the mathematical examples are excessively verbose, making them largely impenetrable. In his attempt to "simplify" the mathematics, Marcus Du Sautoy has succeeded in removing enough information from the problems and solutions as to make them incomprehensible. At every turn, I felt that he was on the brink of giving me the information that I was looking for, only to have my hopes dashed at the start of the next section.

If you are interested in the characters in this story, this is a great book, but if you are interested in the mathematics, it's virtually worthless.
66 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
This book on research into mathematical symmetry is good at conveying the character of mathematicians who have been engaged in the research, and the excitement they can feel. Where it is much less good is at conveying a sense of the actual mathematics, and this is quite a big failing in a book of this kind. For readers who don't want that sense, it will be enjoyable; for others like me who would like to be given a greater understanding of the subject, it is frustrating.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
The kindle version doesn't include 78 illustrations (figures) that render parts of the book in penetrable and spoil the whole experience. I feel cheated. Sad because the writing is good and interesting. I was left disappointed. Be warned.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
This is the SAME book as Symmetry but published under a different title. I bought both and was underwhelmed to find that they were the same! I emailed the author but he didn't give a toss. If you buy one, buy the cheaper one!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
An excellent book which goes some way to describes what a mathematician does all day. Good coverage of history and some modern mathematicians; particularly like the stories about John Conway. I think the book is better written than Music of the Primes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2008
The book symmetry and finding moonshine in one reviewers entry they said they are the same book word for word that is true because one is the American release and the other the uk release, it is the same book. It is not a surprise that the publisher in the states would not use the title finding moonshine. Prof Du sautoy does a wonderful job in communicating maths and makes me wish i knew more about maths. Well written and i would encourage those who are thinking of buying to just go out and buy it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)