Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
394
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2016
I love history books and this one was great. I found it hard to put down and quite riveting in places. I've never read a dan Jones book before though I have watched him on TV. He's up there now in my top 3 history authors with Morris and Mortimer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
The idea of trawling my way through such history was made easier by Dan Jones style that kept the facts at the pace of the narrative, never overloading or going off at a tangent. I found the story a bit repetitive, but history is unfortunately when broken down a set of familiar failings or weaknesses repeated. Very interesting to see the evolving parliamentarians hold over the thrones of England.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Easy to read through with a lot of detail but not to the extent that the reader is overwhelmed. The drama of the rise,falls and scandle are incredible and make it a real page turner - who needs Game of Thrones hey!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Great book. Well written. A little long and, because that's how these kings liked it to be, complex at times. Highly recommend to any game of thrones fan, this really is the original story. Along with the Greeks of course...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
A well written account of a fascinating period in British history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Good read and accessible to non historians. This book brings the characters to life. Minor quibbles battle of Evesham was 1265 not 1263 as mentioned later in the text and John' tomb at Worcester has the earlier effigy of an English king. But that's me being pedantic. Buy this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
This book filled in a lot of missing information I wasn't aware of. Well written and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Eminently engrossing, equaling if not surpassing the majority of high adventure yarns. Makes history accessible to the fiction buff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)