Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
16
Poirot Investigates: Complete & Unabridged
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 March 2017
This audiobook would be a very good addition to the collection of any Agatha Christie fan, or indeed fan of crime fiction in general.

The 11 stories here are typical Christie in terms of their structure & content, and are the perfect length for listening to while in the car or just before bedtime, averaging around 30-35 minutes.

They are ably narrated by David Suchet, who is THE definitive Poirot (with apologies to Peter Ustinov devotees). However, despite the fact that I love Suchet's on-screen portrayal of Poirot, I prefer Hugh Fraser (Hastings) as a narrator of the audiobooks: he seems more able to switch convincingly between the accents of the various characters and does a slightly better job of bringing the stories to life. It's for this reason that I've awarded only four stars, rather than five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2017
Not the best of Agatha Christie, strange to hear David Suchet playing Captain Hastings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2017
Excellent audio book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2010
As always Poirot is brilliant - its nice to hear these early stories and to have Captain Hastings in them as well, he's an excellent foil for Hercule. Although I enjoyed David Suchet reading them I do prefer listening to Hugh Fraser's readings - somehow he seems more like Poroit than David Suchet!! Service from Amazon was also up to its usual high standard so I didn't have to wait long to listen in.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2010
The stories are well-written and presented. David Suchet the better at reading them but the stories are the perfect length to entertain during travel
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2013
Any Agatha Christie fan will go for this. This is now down loaded onto my iPod and goes all over with me. Christie is brilliant and so is Poirot so if you're a fan and wondering if you'll like it go ahead. Really enjoying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2015
We bought this as a further addition to an elderly relative's collection of audio books - bedridden she finds it difficult to concentrate on an actual book, but finds this an excellent substitute. As a keen Agatha Christie/Poirot fan, she was delighted to hear the stories read by David Suchet, who slips easily between characters to bring the stories to life. Even if you have read the books, this is worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2011
Not as good as 'Poirot's Early Cases' as the stories are less varied in nature, but still an enjoyable listen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2014
A christmas present for my mother, an avid fan of the brilliant David suchet, to sit in the chair and listen to this quality recording was superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2016
David Suchet is the best narrator. Wonderful to listen to his talented voices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse