Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
136
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2009
Dropped 4 stn with this little bible.
Intro made me understand what the diet was about and the simple traffic light approach to all food in the back couldnt be easier to follow and when you can have home made chillis and curries how could I fail :)
11 comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
This small Collins is the virtual pocket bible for diabetics. Every food (if it goes in your mouth - it is food) is assessed as to the content, suitabiklity or not for control of diabetes and in some cases obesety.

Clear explanations start the book and then it progresses through the gbook with every type of food and drink.

Easily carried in bag or pocket, easy reference and an excellent publication for helping those with diabetic or obesity problems.

Excellent value for money. highly recommended.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
The size of a pack of cards, this is a fantastic little book that summarises everything you need to know about GI awareness and tailoring your lifestyle to suit. Much of the book is devoted to the list of foods most common to the UK consumer (groceries, takeaways, etc), but it also contains everything you need to know about the GI system. It even outlines the top 3 GI diet books on the market, allowing you to compare and contrast.

If you're stuck for choice of which GI book to buy, I'd recommend starting with this one.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
Whilst this is a good book there is a big problem with the kindle edition. The book shows food lists with a traffic light system. However on the greyscale kindle you cannot tell the difference between the red and green spots.
22 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2010
This little book is great....it gives a brief overview of 4 of the most common GI diets and lists of most foods & their GI content. I keep it in my handbag & it comes in very handy for shopping, esating out etc. Would recommend :)
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
After being diagnosed with PCOS, which in turn has caused insulin-resistance (and the associated health issues with that) it was recommended that I try the GI/GL diet to keep my blood sugars levels lower and steadier (and therefore the insulin levels).

After looking extensively for a suitable book, I found this one and bought it after some great reviews. It explains why this is a good diet to try, and where to go for further information.

What I find invaluable is the traffic light system, which means you can choose healthy alternatives to your favourite foods. (please note that this book does not specify the exact GI index number, which means you can't work out the GL yourself and have to buy the GL book if you want the whole story of how the food affects your blood sugar levels).

I highly recommend this book as it is very small (travel size), yet EXTREMELY informative guide for those who want to loose weight or just want to control your blood sugar levels for an alternative treatment to PCOS.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
This review is for the 2013 edition ( ISBN 978-0-00-721139-5) which is just entitled "Collins gem GI" and has a different cover to that shown in the photo (see the "Look inside" preview to see the cover for this latest edition/printing).

The first 60 pages are full of information about dieting using the GI method, both when wanting to lose weight and then wanting to maintain weight, both of which help to control blood sugar levels, which is important to many non-diabetics who may not even realise that they need to, as well as diabetics. Very brief (single paragraph) details are given of various "fad" diets that have occurred over the years, then lots of easily understood details of why a GI-based diet will work. Four of the major GI diet plans are given a page or two each so that you can consider if buying any of these detailed diet/recipe books would be of help for you. There's a table of ideal weight ranges and waist measurements, and metric/imperial conversions if you need them for the food listing tables.

The listings are on pages 61-206, and cover generic foods rather than details brands (e.g. in the "Biscuits, crackers and crispbreads" section, digestive biscuits and chocolate (milk or plain) are two entries -- no differentiating between branded names and supermarket own brands. There are about 25 category sections, listed alphabetically along the edge of the colour-coded page so that a quick flick through is all that's needed to quickly find the right type of food. For each food entry, the values are given for a either a typical portion size (specified) or 100g, and include a traffic-light colour code for the GI category, then numerical values for Carbs, Fibre, Calories, Protein and Fat in grams (except for calories!). Pretty comprehensive and very easy to find things. There's also a hint on how to make life easier at the foot of each page.

Finally, pages 207-240 give a few hints, tips and menu ideas for swapping high GI foods for low ones, and lots of "choose this" and "avoid these" advice for those that eat out in many types of eatery (e.g. British, Thai, Mexican, Japanese, Spanish, etc). There's also lists of recommended reading, websites and useful addresses.

I've only just got and read through the book, so can't comment on whether it helps me to lose weight or balance blood sugar levels, but the advice is easily understandable, seems very sensible and healthy, and, most importantly, looks very simple and easy to follow (e.g. you don't need to calorie count or weigh everything!) so I'm optimistic for the future. I've previously had the "Collins Gem Calorie Counter" (2003 edition: ISBN 0-00-717847-6), which I find far more awkward to find basic food details in -- I think the edge-of-page colour-coded categories in the GI book help tremendously with this, as well as the de-cluttered listing (the "Calorie Counter" book is black and white only and has lots of branded foods, but sadly, none of those that I buy!).

A great little book that can easily fit in a pocket or bag to accompany you to the supermarket/restaurant and should help with a healthy diet without resorting to calculators and scales. That said, it's still, for me, a more useful book for calorie-counting than the "Calorie counter" book itself!
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
This is a fantastic book that gives you all the figures for GI, Carbs, Fibre, Cals, Pro, Fat, there is no need for any other book plus it comes in a size that will post through your letter box and also fit in a pocket or handbag when going out. Wish I had found this years ago when I first became Diabetic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
It's everything you need - and small enough for the smallest handbag when out and about! Just need the willpwer now!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Excellent little book, packed with information and written for the UK market. Doesn't give brand names, but mentions all food, such as pasta, vegetables, meat, fish, bread etc etc generically. Very useful indeed. Also features a helpful guide for when you are eating out in various niche restaurants, for example, Italian, Chinese, Indian etc etc. Recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)