Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 March 2017
Present for my brother, he was delighted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2017
ok a bit sarky to united
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2017
I’ve been a Man U fan all my life and always interested in the Busby Babes,this book is right up my street thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2017
Good delivery a1 ***
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2006
I've been a Man Utd fan all my life. My late dad never spoke about Munich, and reading this book was like the education I never received at home.

With intimate insights into the lives of individuals affected by the Munich disaster, Jeff Connor carefully and respectfully brings to life the grief and trials post Munich; he contrasts the club welcoming publicity about the disaster with their attitudes to the families living with the consequences - sometimes living hand to mouth.

It is clear that the Busby Babes are not the only former football stars who feel let down in retirement, especially in the reflection of Rio Ferdinand and his generation earning £7m a year (more in a week than they received in total over nearly 50 years!) Connor, however, charts a careful course between the rocks of sentimentality and the cliffs of rage at the maltreatment of his fellow man (and boyhood heroes).

I, for one, was deeply moved by the experience of reading this book. I recommend it to all Manchester United fans, particularly younger ones who only remember the eras of Beckham and beyond.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2006
Speaking as a Manchester City supporter of 43 years this is the best factual football book I have ever read, it gives life to names known only from my childhood, without spoiling anyones enjoyment I personally would urge any reader to firstly read the final chapter first as this puts a clearer perspective about the author.
I read the book in less than 2 days as it was to use an overused phrase 'unputdownable', it is not a Manchester United basher on the contrary it is critical of certain individuals who are or were connected to the club.
I,having read the book feel as if I personally knew those who died and also those who survived.
It is the only book that when finished I would want to start reading straight away again.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2007
There are a large number of books written about the Busby Babes and the tragic air crash of the 6th Feb 1958 such that it is difficult to imagine anything new being said. Jeff Connor approaches the topic from a slightly different angle. He has the express aim of describing the unfair treatment of some of the families, the "Forgotten victims of Munich" as the sub-title describes them. To be sure he finds some individuals (notably Gregg and Wood - what is it with goalkeepers?) and families who feel let down but in general I read into this reaction the lasting sadness of loss, rather than outright anger at the club. In the event nothing Manchester United could do, would be enough would it?

Putting this focus aside, I found the book really well written and informative. Connor gives space to some of the less feted Babes (Viollet, Blanchflower, Jones, Bent) and tells their stories without neglecting the stories about Duncan Edwards, Gregg and Charlton. What struck me in the end though, however hard to face for a staunch United fan, was that the Busby Babes might not have been the legends they now are if they not been struck by tragedy. Liam "Billy" Whelan had lost his place to Charlton, Roger Byrne was aging, Wood was losing his place to Gregg, Pegg was out of the side, Geoff Cope was a permanent sub, Scanlon survived but was never a really top player and so on.

In the end maybe the Busby Babes were protected from the harsh realities of football by the fact that they never reached the point of being dropped, replaced and sold. On the other hand see what Charlton achieved and think what Edwards, Taylor and Colman might have done. A really moving read for any United fan with an eye to history.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2015
Great insight into football of the 1950's and how the Manchester United team could have gone on to be the core of the England team in the world cup of 1958 but for the fatal decision to try and leave Munich for a third time. This decision has clearly become an embarrassment to the club today as they try to avoid the issue of where the fault lies. They do however continue to make money out of sadness with their museum dedicated to "the team that died" without stating how the families were given little support and club houses were taken back from those that could no longer play so that the replacement players could use them. This book gives the facts and leaves the readers to come to their own conclusions of why so many died. Was it the fault of Busby himself who only once, almost, admitted that he should have stayed another day in Munich, or was it the pilot himself that made the fatal error? What do you think ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2013
This is a must read book for Manchester United fans by Jeff Connor. The Munich Air Disaster was the greatest disaster the club suffered, and was felt by the entire nation. This book tells the story of the 'Lost Babes,' those who survived the crash, but as Connor explains were largely forgotten by the club. There are always two sides to a story in every situation, and this one asks to be read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse