Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
45
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2015
How did she do it? Agatha Christie, that is. This book has a very improbable storyline, a ridiculously unlikely heroine, bias ("The American President and the Russian Dictator") and a twist (I won't spoil it by saying what it is) that doesn't make any sense at all. And yet it is a simply fantastic story which grips to the very end, and which I recommend to the top of the highest hills! That shows the genius of Agatha Christie. The story starts of in London, where a temp loses her job and accidentally meets a young man who she falls in love with at first sight. She follows him to Baghdad - a very different Baghdad in those days - and a story of intrigue and adventure begins. It twists this way and that, and you just can't put it down. Brilliant.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
A great book to read post biography. A little self biographical fantasy. Excellent easy read. I love her books where she uses her travel experiences
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
It's Agatha Christie, but not as we know her! This is an extremely well crafted spy thriller.....but with Christie's unique way of portraying characters and her knowledge of the area. A perfect rainy day read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
This is a very well researched and beautifully crafted detective novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Couldn't put this down, read in one go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Found the plot very good indeed. Really enjoyed it and was an easy book to pick up and put down again without having to re read everything. Really enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
I liked this because it was one of her stand alone novels - not poirot or marple, just a good spy / mystery tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
I love the Agatha Christie novels, but found this a little slow paced at the beginning. However, the storyline does progress through many twists and turns so will satisfy the amateur sleuth nicely. I was a little confused about some of the geographical allusions as they seemed to switch places at one time, but did not detract greatly from the story. Overall a good read and I would have given 5 stars if it were not for the rather slow start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Have not been able to listen as the audio I was sent came as cassette tapes instead of discs. Who has a cassette player these days.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
I have recently been reading Agatha Christie books for the first time. Largely because of naff films from the 70s and 80s where the detective stands in a drawing room and intones 'one of you is the murderer' which is a bit of a yawn. After reading about 30 of her books, the drawing room intoning has happened exactly once which was a nice suprise. I was happy to find that her books are so far away from those tired clichés and are in fact charming, lively and fascinating insights into a vanished world. They came to Baghdad is particularly sparkling and it was incredible to read about a Baghdad at once so alien and familiar. Christie knew these far flung places well and it shows in the details. I enjoyed this thrilling spy tale and wished it had been longer and not so choppy. it feels like it could have been fleshed out much more and turned into something much more, the ending felt rushed somehow. Loved the heroine, I would have loved to see her back for a new adventure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here