Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2015
How did she do it? Agatha Christie, that is. This book has a very improbable storyline, a ridiculously unlikely heroine, bias ("The American President and the Russian Dictator") and a twist (I won't spoil it by saying what it is) that doesn't make any sense at all. And yet it is a simply fantastic story which grips to the very end, and which I recommend to the top of the highest hills! That shows the genius of Agatha Christie. The story starts of in London, where a temp loses her job and accidentally meets a young man who she falls in love with at first sight. She follows him to Baghdad - a very different Baghdad in those days - and a story of intrigue and adventure begins. It twists this way and that, and you just can't put it down. Brilliant.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
A great book to read post biography. A little self biographical fantasy. Excellent easy read. I love her books where she uses her travel experiences
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
It's Agatha Christie, but not as we know her! This is an extremely well crafted spy thriller.....but with Christie's unique way of portraying characters and her knowledge of the area. A perfect rainy day read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Couldn't put this down, read in one go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Found the plot very good indeed. Really enjoyed it and was an easy book to pick up and put down again without having to re read everything. Really enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
I liked this because it was one of her stand alone novels - not poirot or marple, just a good spy / mystery tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
I love the Agatha Christie novels, but found this a little slow paced at the beginning. However, the storyline does progress through many twists and turns so will satisfy the amateur sleuth nicely. I was a little confused about some of the geographical allusions as they seemed to switch places at one time, but did not detract greatly from the story. Overall a good read and I would have given 5 stars if it were not for the rather slow start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
I have recently been reading Agatha Christie books for the first time. Largely because of naff films from the 70s and 80s where the detective stands in a drawing room and intones 'one of you is the murderer' which is a bit of a yawn. After reading about 30 of her books, the drawing room intoning has happened exactly once which was a nice suprise. I was happy to find that her books are so far away from those tired clichés and are in fact charming, lively and fascinating insights into a vanished world. They came to Baghdad is particularly sparkling and it was incredible to read about a Baghdad at once so alien and familiar. Christie knew these far flung places well and it shows in the details. I enjoyed this thrilling spy tale and wished it had been longer and not so choppy. it feels like it could have been fleshed out much more and turned into something much more, the ending felt rushed somehow. Loved the heroine, I would have loved to see her back for a new adventure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
Having read and listened to a lot of Agatha Christies in the past I was expecting this tale, not having Poirot or Miss Marple in it, to be a second rate Christie, like Tommy and Tuppence. How wrong I was. The story is very good and it is very easy to like the heroine, Victoria Jones.
Christie manages to take your imagination all the way to the Baghdad of the Thirties and even though the plot is about international politics, the personal side of the story is dominant and I found myself dying to know how it ended. So much so that out of all the Christie audio books I've listened to this has been my favourite.
The only down side is at first the narration by Emilia Fox seems a little lacking, but give her a chance and soon you can easily see all the characters she is portraying and she really does do a good job of all the male roles.

If you love a good mystery with an exotic setting I would heartily recommend this, and for Christie lovers it is a must.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2004
Victoria Jones is a recently sacked shorthand typist who has an elastic approach to telling the truth, and a great longing for adventure "to Victoria an agreeable world would be one where tigers lurked in the Strand and dangerous bandits infested Tooting". She gets a chance at adventure when she meeets Edward, a handsome and charming young man on his way to Baghdad to work for an organisation called the Olive Branch, the purpose of which is to foster understanding between nations by getting young people together to read Shakespeare and Milton. He wishes that Victoria could join him there, and by a lucky coincidence, the very next day she is offered a job accompanying a lady with a broken arm on the journey out. She enterprisingly provides herself with fake references and claims to be the niece of archaeologist Dr Pauncefoot Jones, excavating at Basra. Victoria is entranced by Baghdad, but before she has a chance to find Edward, a wounded man stumbles into her hotel room and dies in her bed. Who is he? And who is the mysterious Mr Dakin? And what are the people at the Olive Branch really up to. And who on earth is Anna Scheele? This is a tremedously enjoyable book. Victoria is a delightful heroine, imaginative, romantic, enterprising, and quite outrageously untruthful. There are wonderful vivid descriptions of Baghdad, a complicated and exciting plot, and plenty of humour. Great fun.
22 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here