Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars


It is an extemly informative book. As well as listing every dolphin, whale and porpoise it answers quetions that are often asked like 'should whales/dolphins be kept in captivity,it lists places to go whale watching and what you will need anyone can read it from someone who doesn't know much about sea mammals to someone who knows a lot.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
This is an excellent book for referring to about whales, dolphins and porpoises. It tells you about their behaviour, migratory paths and their size compared to a human. There are brilliant illustrations and this is a great comprehensive guide (in a portable size) for anyone interested in these wonderful creatures.
I bought it for an art project about whales and found the illustrations perfect for copying in drawings and paintings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
This is a really informative book with excellent illustrations that show the appearance of whales in detail as well as the scale compared to humans. Excellent for art projects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
This is a very good easy to use handy guide, but not as comprehensive as some. The illustrations and information are very good and it gives you great detail of each species along with diving profiles and information about peridonals of each species. The only down side with this book is that it does not cover seals, only whales, dolphins and porpoises, which is the title of the book. A neat, handy, informative book, well worth buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Excellent and clear, beautiful photos. Delivered as promised great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
if you have no idea what the porpoise actually is well that's book for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2017
Very pleased wiv my book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2008
This book is only one of the Collins Gems books; there are over 65 books! This book, called Whales and Dolphins (even though it is about porpoises as well) is pocket sized and it is very useful being pocket sized; say you were on a bus and it got stuck in bad traffic, you could simply take it out of your pocket and read it! The Collins Gems are a set of mini books about nearly everything from cats to flags; from babies' names to kings and queens; from spiders to stars; from firsts to superstitions - it practically speaking does cover nearly everything that is well known or important. I would rate this book 7/ 10 and I can confidently say that I like it. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is fascinated with these three great sea mammals (whales, dolphins and porpoises).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
Although small and handy did not give anything like as much info as the other book I purchased DK Whales Dolphins & Porpoise. which was a larger book but well worth having with me for the amount of info it contained.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
Covers most species of whales and dolphins with lots of helpful information. Convenient size for travels. The best small guide I've found
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)