Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

John Lennon: The Life
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 July 2015
I thought that "Shout" was the best story of The Beatles. Based on that, I bought this. I enjoyed it, especially the first half. Then, as John meets Yoko, the story seems to take on a different tone, it's as if Yoko is looking over Philip's shoulder as he writes, it's slightly off-putting, a bit too reverential and 'careful'. Another complaint is that the story suddenly ends without much explanation, as if the writer was in a hurry to close the book. Apart from those comments, it was still an interesting read, especially the first half. I would like to have read another book with the second half of the story written in the spirit of the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2016
This book covers a good amount of detail when it comes to events in John's life, but not to the point where you feel like your just being force fed facts after facts about John Lennon's life events. P. Norman does a very god job of keeping the Lennon train Bio-narrative on track and more important you as a willing passenger on it. It's well researched and even the well known events told in a way to keep you interested. I liked his impartial attitude in regard to Yoko Ono he tells it just how it was, but not falling into ''she broke up the Beatles'' all on her own which some Biographers tend to do.
In regard to Lennon he gives a good but not a biased in either way of telling the kind of character he was. I gave it 4 stars because i felt in some parts he in is objective way of telling the story of John Lennon missed or excluded motivations behind some of his actions which could have given a deeper understanding of the man, which would leave you to make your own mind up, but which 'sometimes' left it vague.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
This book is utterly readable, utterly engrossing, utterly truthful, utterly direct, utterly brilliant and deeply moving. I cannot praise it too highly. I am 58 years old so much of the detail from the 60s and 70s had a historical resonance with me anyway. But the true magic is in the incredible `warts and all` picture that he paints of John. By the time we have lived with John throughout the book the end is still totally devastating. What a researcher Philip Norman is. Perfection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2013
This book is a good account. I was inspired to read after visiting the National Trust Beatles childhood homes in Liverpool. The book is very good on the early life and want happened in that house. The author understands British life, culture and institutions so it is much better than the Albert Goldman biography.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2015
Very well written book.Although a bit heavy going at times,it gives a well rounded insight to a man who was a legend in his own time.It portrays his life with Yoko in a way that the reader probably hasn't read before.highly recommend to fans of John Lennon the man,not just as one of the Beatles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2015
Really enjoyable read - as much about the Beatles as John, but the insights into John Lennon as an individual are frank, fascinating and revealing. It's a lengthy book but the research and detail seem to be excellent and well sourced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2018
As a Beatles fan, my husband found this book really interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2018
Very interesting brutality honest story of the life and times of one of the great musical icons of the 20th century
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2015
Such a sad story, became so successful at a young age, and could not handle all the worldly pressures, of being famous, Cynthia was the one that loved him uncondionally, for better or worse, he just got caught up in a bad world drugs, booze and women........as a lot of famous people do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2018
Insightful, rigorously researched and well written. A new perspective on the great works of John (and of course) Paul, George and Ringo. John amplifies the complexities and paradoxes of human behaviour. I think I've felt every emotion reading this book too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)