Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Other Queen
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 January 2016
Most enjoyable book.kept we grip to the very end.also made the tale of Elizabeth and mary of Scots come alive.well worth the read..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2014
In true Philippa Gregory style which provides a gripping historical drama compiled with an enormous amount of historical accuracy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2013
A bitty start , not her usual style but worth reading. It may be more enjoyable if it were dramatised for Tv like the White Queen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2014
very interesting reading from this author who never disappoints in her novels. well worth a read if you enjoy historical stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2016
Diaspointed in the writing style. Different characters writing each chapter made it hard to get into. Gave up and gave it away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2016
Very slow an repetitive, particularly the Mary and the Bess chapters. Very disappointing given the quality of her other novels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 31 March 2009
I've loved all PG's Tudor novels but I was pleased to see the action move away from the Tudor Court for a change, but without losing any of the plotting and machinations which we've all come to know and love.

Mary comes across as spoiled and vain, though interestingly PG says in her author's note that this is not how she sees her. George (Earl of Shrewsbury) is a drip, quite frankly, losing his heart and his head to the beautiful but treacherous queen - indeed, his wife's nickname for him is Mr Fool.

The real star of the book is the redoubtable Bess of Hardwick, who dragged herself up from lowly roots to become a Countess by way of some very judicious and profitable marriages. It's quite painful to watch as the wealth and property Bess has acquired over the years (by fair means and foul) are squandered as the couple are forced to play host to the spendthrift Mary and all her hangers-on.

I do think the book could stand to be trimmed by about 100 pages - there's quite a lot of repetition as the exiled queen and her retinue are shunted backwards and forwards between various houses at the whim of Elizabeth and William Cecil, but overall I think it's up there with my two favourite PG books, The Other Boleyn Girl and the Constant Princess.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2013
A very interesting read. The characters were very believable and the book fired my imagination to learn more about history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2013
The wife loves them, she has a lot of them , I only read picture books I cant get through 2 paragraphs before i fall asleep
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2015
As usual the facts are woven into another gripping tale, and new theories on what might have happened tantalise the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Last Tudor
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here