Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 September 2006
One of the best Poirot compendia, featuring two of Christie's greatest novels.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (5/5)

Reputedly one of Christie's finest pieces of misdirection, this locked room mystery has lost none of its capacity to baffle.

Murder on the Orient Express (5/5)

Even if you know the solution (which would hardly be surprising given the fame of this story) this is an entertaining novel.

Murder in the Mews (4/5)

A novella - or perhaps long short story - with an enjoyable plot twist. Also available in "Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories", so you may already own it.

Hercule Poirot's Christmas (3/5)

There's plenty to like about this locked room mystery, but its solution is somewhat unconvincing, and this is not one of the best Poirot novels.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
This is the second Ariadne Oliver collection of Agatha Christie's that I have bought, and I enjoyed this one just as much, if not more, than the last.

I love the character of Ariadne, and her eccentricities complement Poirot's methodical and logical approach perfectly.

I am yet to read the short stories, but have read the three novels and enjoyed each one very much. I particularly liked 'Cards on the Table' as it took a slightly different approach than the usual, 'it could have been anyone'. It is clear that the murderer has to be one of four, and the intricate way in which each character is unravelled is excellent. At the beginning it appears that there is no evidence to go on at all, but it soon becomes clear that there is, in fact, a wealth of evidence available to Poirot!

This is a great collection so far, and I really look forward to reading the remainder!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 October 2006
Although these are not the most famous Poirot novels, they are certainly amongst the best and most sinister.

One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (4/5)

This little-known mystery beginning with the apparent suicide of the detective's dentist is one of the darkest Poirot novels and a neglected gem.

Five Little Pigs (4/5)

Again, this novel is comparatively little-known, but features an enticingly high-concept setup. Poirot is asked to investigate a criminal case that occurred sixteen years previously based solely on the testimony of surviving participants. Like "Cards on the Table", this is a novel whose primary satisfaction is intellectual: one for the Christie connoisseur, perhaps.

Taken at the Flood (4/5)

This complex mystery follows so serpentine path that it is extremely difficult to solve more than a part of it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Great gift for a family member and it arrived quickly and in perfect condition. The gift will be well used, a favourite. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. I live in North America and the gift was sent to the UK.An easy and simple way of gift giving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
It's a marvellous collection of the almost unsolvable murders that Poirot solves with convincing ease! I read the novels over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
as always Agatha Christie at her best keeps the suspense going right through the book would recommend to thriller buffs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
it's good to be able to order old favourites and enjoy them again. Packing and delivery very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
I have alwyays liked murder mysteries, and as such I enjoy books by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
this was a gift so hopefully was well liked but can't really say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
The perfect collection of one of our greatest authors. We seem to talk much about Charles Dickens and Shakespeare but often forget Agatha.
A brilliant author and one that will be sadly missed. Lucky for us, they are still printing her books and making movies about them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse