Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
110
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2010
The book literally fits into the palm of your hand. But you'd be surprised how clear the photos are. It's so easy to follow. Before I read this I knew how to tie 2 different knots, 5 hours later, I mastered an extra eight, only 24 left to go!
If I managed to learn this fast then it MUST be a good book.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Decent beginner's guide on how to tie some basic knots. It provides step-by-step photos/instructions and multiple knot variations in some cases, e.g. bowline, double bowline. It also briefly explains what the knot's used for.
There's a section on decorative knots at the end which I mostly didn't bother with, but learned all the rest so the instructions work.
It probably goes without saying that no string/rope of any kind is included with the book so you may have to buy some as well. Couldn't possibly advise what's best although I can tell you that I used a length of about 80cms of webtex para cord which is relatively cheap and worked fine, though ends start to become frayed after a while. It's so cheap though, you can just cut the ends off or cut another length without losing any sleep.
I found I needed to practise tying new knots about 5 times before I stood a chance of remembering how to do it.
The book's fun, a good travelling companion, and could actually be useful one day; of course definitely useful if you're due to go camping or on expedition somewhere.
I'd definitely recommend this book to children aged ~9 upwards, and of course adults with a leaning toward this kind of thing(if they like Ray Mears, they'll probably like this!).
One of the more applicable/useful Collins gem books in my opinion.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
I bought this book to entertain grandchildren on a long flight - it certainly did that! Do not forget to purchase a few pairs of bootlaces in different colours beforehand.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
This pocket sized book is a useful little extra, but I'm not sure who it's aimed at. Anyone who uses knots in the outdoors environment will learn all the knots they need before heading out, so they don't have to consult a book in an emergency situation. Having said that, there are some knots in here which are not covered in other books, but they are mostly decorative. For a much more useful 'tool', look at John Shaw's 'The Directory of Knots'. It covers a great many knots, with easy instructions, and (for those who are interested) a history of many of the knots he includes (etymology etc). If you require a pocket book, the Collins is good - otherwise the Directory of Knots will sit open on it's own while you practice at home.
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
The books contents are great and the instructions are clear. However the book is too small, I get the idea that it can be easily packed in your camp or field gear, but the idea of learning before you go out is not suited to this book. It should of been bigger. It is difficult to read the book and and try the knots at the same time. The pages being so small, they close on you, as you take your hands off the book. You need to somehow hold it open whilst trying the knots. It's a shame as the content is brilliant with easy steps, making learning knots easy. I guess it's ideal for those packing light, as it is a very small stubby book. I hope there is a version of this book in a larger size, as i will buy that too. I don't want to knock it too much as the content is what matters. It's just fiddly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Yes i think its a good book, though agree with post below that it is small. I have The SAS Survival Guide also, and its same size, though twice as thick. No that's definetly not a go at the SAS writer. His book is a Brilliant read. Must have. Good knot tying tricks in there too. Though i've still to review that book. So it will be worth reading. Bought a Bear Grylls Ch4 book out of a charity shop for £2, origonal price was £18:99! So to put some perspective down. The SAS book makes his look like a few knots, a few pix of him with the family, and him in pix we've all no doubt saw before. yeah him looking dirty. Sitting round a campfire...Paul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
Brought me back to my school days.

The description tells you all you need to know. I had this in my pannier for our camping trip and used 4 of the knots for various things.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Excellent book for anyone who wants to learn practical every day knots. Just an excellent size to carry in the backpack as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
i purchased this book and was quite impressed with it, it is however very small in size, approx 4inches by 3 inches. this ended up being an asset as you can easily fit it in your pocket. the book is easy to follow and has many different types of knots both practical and ornamental. you can not be robbed at this price and everyone should have the basics of tying good knots for a variety of different occasions. when the girlfriend wont let you watch the football for instance!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Great little book. This is only about 11 cm tall but is just about right for learning knots. It starts with a general introduction, separates knots into different types and then has a very clear instruction on how to tie. There isn't a huge range of knots, but then that doesn't seem to be the point of the book. Instead it a good selection of most types of knots needed for camping, sailing, scouts etc in a handy size and easy to learn. Using it to learn knots for sailing with the family and also to teach a group of Beavers. If they can tie knots using this book then anyone can!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)