Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
291
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2014
What a terrific book this is. There is so much packed into its comparatively short span. First and foremost, it's a rite of passage novel, with the narrator/heroine growing up sexually, emotionally, politically and above all in her perception of her father. Then again it's an insightful study in domestic tyranny, wisely eschewing black and white judgements about the father's behaviour. And it's also a wonderful location book, bringing Nigeria to life without indulging in any purple prose. The construction is masterly, and Adichie creates atmosphere and character without any cost to pace. That's quite an achievement. I seldom give five stars but in this instance anything less would be unfair, though it has to be said that occasionally the claustrophobia of the parental home makes it rather grim reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What a fantastic read. A book full of warm, rich characters. Characters that come alive, as the reader shares their anger and disappointment at the fate life has in store for them. For any readers not familiar with Nigeria the usual two themes continually crop up: education and religion. But this is, at least, true to life.
For readers who enjoyed Purple Hibiscus, I heartily recommend another book on Nigerian life, albeit one based in modern day England: One Love Two Colours: The unlikely marriage of a Punk Rocker & his African Queen, by Margaret Oshindele. This is the true life account of a Yoruba woman and her marriage to an Englishman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I do not really need to write anything about this book. It has all been said before. The book is excellent, drawing the reader into the world of a child growing up in Nigeria, in a family dominated by a tyrannical, and religion obsessed father. I was completely bowled over by it. And in awe of the talent of such a young author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
great serviceand outstanding book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
It is just an amazing book! You want to finish it in one go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Well written story that kept me turning the pages - however the ending seems like the author didn't know where to end it ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Really Good! / Denise, 19 yrs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
I just couldn't put this book down once I got my tooth into it. chimamanda is truly a master story teller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Fourth book by Adichie I've read, and now my second favourite (Americanah still rules...). This one is beautifully emotional and offers a glimpse of lives led by different families in Nigeria, while at the same time holding many universal truths about human relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.84
£3.25
£6.29
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here