Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
161
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2009
Common sense is order of the day. i am a newbie and thought this book would be a good starting point whilst out and about noticing mushrooms wandering if i could eat them. Having used it as a sole reference i find that it is. I have been able to identify a number of different varieties in my local area and found that they are non edible so far. But with this book i feel confident that i will be able to identify edible varieties soon. Small enough to pop into your pocket and very cheap. Am sure there are much better books available but probably cost much more. I would recommend this book to anybody who knows nothing about picking mushrooms in the the wild as a good starting point.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2007
I went on a fungas foray with the author of this book last year and it was extremely interesting and great fun. This book, although small, is packed full of the stuff I learned and much more information that gives me the confidence to go hunting on my own. It's the perfect size to pop in your pocket or basket while out walking.

One of the great things about it is that it identifies other species that can be confused with what you might have found. This allows you to double check and should make any mushroom hunting a lot safer.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
this is a great little book and comes with me on walks all the time. Its a very clear guide and offers clear instructions regarding the identification of fungus. if you have only just became interested in fungus its a great starting point
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
The format of this book leaves novice mushroom hunters hunting for the right section to identify their find. The information is great, but as it is split up by family and not by characteristic. i.e. While the book is good at references noting species that could be confused at the peril of the reader such as a velvet shank and a sulfur tuft. I think a book that starts with characteristics would save identification time, such as Roger Phillips Mushrooms. In any case I think the book would have been better organized for mushrooming beginners by starting with basic characteristics and then move into positive identification.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
This has a very limited number of fungi listed, I often go out and find things and there is no mention in the book at all. However, as a result of this it is nice and small and easily fits into a back pocket - so good to identify the a possible group, even if not the exact species.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
This book is very compact and contains hundreds of fungi. As has been said; it errs on the side of caution when it comes to what you can eat, so if you really want to eat some of the ones that are 'inedible' then you may want a book which is a bit more detailed. But for use in the field it is fantastic, it has an easy to use key for identifying different mushrooms (though for a lot of them you will need get a spore print to confidently ID them, which is a bit time consuming and can't really be done while you're out foraging). I bought this along with 'Food for Free', which features some of the more common edible 'shrooms but not in great detail. Having this book to cross-reference is great. It has photos as well as illustrations for most of the fungi.
Overall, fantastic book for the price.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2008
This is a great book to give more detail on this sort of wild food for anyone learning survival skills or bushcraft. I recently bought it to accompany the new Trueways Survival Skills with John 'Lofty' Wiseman [Interactive DVD] - together they make a superb way to quickly get up to speed with living off the land and especially survival skills or bushcraft.

To summarise, this is a great little book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
My wife is Russian and LOVES wild mushrooms, but isn't completely sure what is edible in England. This little book can be carried in a pocket wheh we go for one of our country walks, and consulted as required when we encounter some free funghi to consider taking home to eat. Cheap, comprehensive, informative and handy - a great book for the enthusiastic amateur!.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
A great little field guide containing a photo and illustrated drawing of each Fungi and a brief but good description. This book is small enough to fit in your pocket/rucksack and is in my opinion better than some of the other more expensive and weightier books I have purchased.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All the Collins Gem books are great for keeping in your pocket if you are out on a field trip for the day and this one is no exception. The photographs are first class and the descriptions of the individual fungi clear and concise. The book describes almost 240 different species of mushroom and toadstool (when you've read the book you will know the difference). Their habitats, size, appearance and also whether they are poisonous or not.

They say that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing and with fungi it could be fatal. The book goes out of its way to show which fungi are edible and which are poisonous. Personally I prefer to err on the side of caution and buy mine from the supermarket.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)