Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Prince of the Blood
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 May 2017
Typical Feist. Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 October 2016
Great story within the fairy tale world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Everything else I've read by Raymond E. Feist is spectacular. This is no different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
great storylines , engaging characters , love nakor, a romping good tale , looking forward to rest in series thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2001
After reading the first threee books of Feist's amazing riftwar saga I looked forward to Prince of the Blood. But I was in for a surprise. Firstly, this book is set some twenty years after the events of the riftwar, so Feist decided to kill off some older characters during those years. Secondly, the fantasy elements that made his first books, seem to have disappeared. Thinking I was buying a fantasy book, I was quite disapointed. But the good story and characters nearly make up that. If you enjoyed the first books, and you really want to know whats happens to the twin boys, Borric and Erland during their cross into adulthood, I fully recommend it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2004
In this sequel to A Darkness at Sethanon, author Raymond Feist takes us back to his magical world of Midkemia. Arutha's sons, Borric and Erland, are growing up to be wild; given to drinking, gambling and wenching. However, Borric is destined to be King of the Isles, with Erland being a mere step away from the throne. And so, the boys are packed off to the Empire of Great Kesh, to represent the Kingdom at the Empress's Diamond Jubilee. However, there is a conspiracy at work in Kesh, and one of its goals is the death of Borric conDoin! The twins are going to have to grow up, and quick, if they are to stay alive!
This book is a decided step away from the Elves and Wizards theme that dominated Mr. Feist's early works. Instead, this book places the (non-magical) main characters in a situation where they must use their wits and abilities to succeed - a theme that dominates the rest of his Midkemia books.
Overall, I must say that I loved this book! I really enjoyed the exotic setting, with the author mixing in familiar Earth cultures in an entirely unfamiliar arrangement. Also, even though I do like wizard characters, I thought that Mr. Feist still did a good job of using magic as an integral part of the story, even if it is not the central part.
So, I would say that I liked the setting, I liked the characters (a very nice selection of different sorts, but working together in an entirely believable way), and I liked the story. As a matter of fact, I would say that if this is not my favorite Midkemia story, it is one of my top 2! I really enjoyed this book, and highly recommend it to all fans of Fantasy literature!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
this story is about the two young twin princes they spend there lifes together, after being seperating they have to find there own selfs and the way to move forward, one prince is captered and took as aslave the other it forced to be the nx prince of kondor and future king, will they go forward with there life and save great kesh from an upcoming betrayel or will it lead to war and destroy the kingdom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2005
The revised edition is not in fact that much different to the original. Where in Magician and the other Riftwar books you build up rapour with the characters, the original Prince of The Blood didn't really do this for Prince Arutha's sons Borric and Erland - the revised edition definitely repairs this.This revised edition follows the movements of The royal princes on a vistit to Great Kesh. However, waylaid by a band of soldiers, Prince Borric, heir apparent to the Kingdom goes missing and is presumed dead. Borric is captured by slavers and taken to Durbin where he escapes with the help of Suli, a pathetic thief. He choses to continue on to Kesh, to warn his brother Erland of the plot to incite war between the Kingdom and Empire by a faction of the Keshian Court.Its an absolutely brilliant read, fans of Feist's previous works will definitely enjoy this, and those who aren't will do so too. Though, I still feel the same regarding both editions... Buy it - its great!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 1999
This novel is really one of Feist's best. Let's get real here: Feist could never be accused of being a great writer but what he does he does very well; and that is constructing shallow but entertaining fantasy adventure tales with likeable characters that offer a few hours of escape. Not that I'm complaining about that. I've been a fan since Magician.
This one is a bit of a departure for Feist being a stand alone adventure in Midkemia and more of a 'journey fantasy' than the strictly plot based Riftwar Saga books. As usual a slow start soon ratchets up into high action and adventure as Princes Borric and Erland traverse the great desert in Kesh on a diplomatic mission. They encounter assassins and the infamous Durbin Slavers Guild before running into Feist's two best characters: Ghuda and Nakor the Isalani (my personal favourite!) and eventually on into the Imperial City where they become enmeshed in the Empire's own seething political intrigues. This is actually my favorite Feist novel (even though Magician was a more original and fully realized tale with engaging characters).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 1996
This is one of best, most captivating novels in the land of Midkemia. If you have read the great riftwar saga, and would like to read more Feist, The Prince of the Blood is an excellent choice. The kingdom has enjoyed twenty years of peace since the final battle at Sethanon, and now Arutha's
twin sons' Borric and Erland are coming into their manhood. Arutha, in an effort to turn his fun-loving boys into the wise rulers they will have to become, sends them to the exotic empire of Keshp on a diplomatic mission. In Kesh, the brothers encounter adventures they, and you, will remember
for a lifetime. In a land vastly greater and more powerful than the one their uncle rules, with every step they take, they face assassins that are trying to kill them for reasons they can't begin to understand. This is an excellent addition to Feist's collection of Riftwar-related novels and
should not be overlooked by anyone who is even mildly interested in fantasy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse