Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars

on 22 March 2017
Great help with discovering the coastal paintings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Liked the style
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Good..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
I first came across Ray Balkwills work in a gallery in St. Ives, Cornwall three years ago. For me his work was distinctive and just kept drawing my eye. So much so that I cannot remember any other work in the gallery. Since then wherever I see a Balkwill I seem to recognise it instantly. This book (and his others which I now have) give you a good insight into how he produces such attractive and distinctive work. As a beginner artist myself it has also help me move into mixed media painting.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
A really good book from a front-rank Artist! Any fan of Ray Balkwill's should
have this !
Delivery time good too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
I was rather doubtful as to how useful this book would be. Indeed it isn't an A to Z of how to paint but gives many useful tips and ideas both for materials and methods. Add to that the enthusiasm of the artist and his delightful paintings and you have a little gem of a book, full of inspiration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
There are numerous illustrations in this book and the author reveals the techniques he used to produce the paintings. There are many helpful tips though at times the author seems to assume the reader already has considerable experience, eg when he says 'Additional equipment for painting on location includes a simple viewfinder, which I find invaluable': he doesn't explain why though the answer is presumably obvious to the initiated. But in the end he goes a long way in achieving what he says is a main purpose of the book, namely to arouse enthusiasm in the reader for 'a subject with unlimited possibilities'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
The usual APV hide quality and a useful addition to my growing collection of watercolour demo films. Ray uses mixed media which is a nice change from the pure watercolour of others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Would ideally have liked his Atmospheric Pictures book but still VERY pricy. This bargain book though has many of the same tips.....and lovely illustrations of Ray's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Brilliant! Fully recommend it for anyone who is keen on painting coastal scenes. Very good quality pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)