Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
Descriptive and atmospheric. This book gives the reader a window into the structure of Delft society of the period. The central character, Griet, has depth, strength and integrity. I found the book far more satisfying than the film although having seen the film I did find it easier to visualise settings and characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
The book arrived in good time and order. The story was sensitively written and my imagination was seized - I'm off up to London tomorrow to see the Dutch paintings of that period in the National Gallery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 August 2001
I don't usually like 'historical' books, but this one just sucks you in after the first two pages. It is entirely written from the viewpoint of the girl who is fictionalised as starting out as Vermeer's maidservant then ending up as his studio assistant and (reluctant) model. The gradual revelation of her true feelings for the artist makes incredibly compelling reading. The pace is slow, and the jokes and sex are non-existent, but nevertheless, I completely 'lost' myself in this book for several days. I recommend it to anyone - any gender, any age.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Second time of reading it, this time for a history debate. Did give accurate details of life and Deft no doubt. So was useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
I loved this book, as with all Tracy's novels based on fact and fiction. Her research is phenomenal and the reader at once becomes transported into another era and place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Great story. More so if you have first read about how colours were made in those days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Very well constructed novel and most beautifully written evoking such a strong atmosphere of Vermeers household.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Unusual and gripping. Well-written and atmospheric. Draws you into an intense domestic drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Very happy with this item. Heard a lot about this book and it didn't disappoint. Will certainly recommend it to friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Gave me an insight into life as it was - with really descriptive passages that took me there. Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here