Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
164
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2015
Heard great things but couldn't get past the first two pages, sorry! Next time i'll use the library! - it's cheaper ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Heard this reviewed on the radio & couldn't put it down. Based on fact, it's a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Excellent read and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Good book,like Paulo coelho books, like always you got this life lessons and reality s,read it if you wanna find yourself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
this book is made more interesting because , we know it is based on a real persons story , it is also refreshing that although the protagonist struggles with her situation it does not defeat her , a much more uplifting take on female sexuality than you will ever find in the E.L.James trilogy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2006
I was recommended this book by my partner who was reading it in French, otherwise I probably would never have looked twice at it. I was however pleasently surprised by this book.
It is very easy to read, so easy in fact I read it in 7 hours. It wasnt what I would call a page turner as such but yet somehow I found myself unable to put it down. Not perhaps a life changing book, but very easy and enjoyable to read.
The book follows a girl called Maria and her quest for love. But it is not a typical love story even if the ending is. Some very bold writing looking into the world of prostitution, with two erotic scenes that I think have been stamped in my memory forever.
I would recommend this book if you are looking for a very easy read where you dont have to stretch your mind too much, it flows so well and the plot moves quite quickly. But if you are looking for a challenge in a book with a big beefy plot then it might not be for you.
As a reader of all kinds of literature, from challenging to the not so challenging I found it nice refreshing change.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2017
I am a huge fan of paulo Cohelo so what I can say more - I love this book !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The latest novel from Paulo Coelho considers if sex and spirituality can go together. While Coelho has included sex and love in other novels, in this novel he writes more explicitly. Because the main character is a prostitute, the obvious focus fro the book is sex in its various forms. Despite being about a young girl who feels that prostitution is her only hope, the book is not sordid, nor does Coelho preach about her profession.
As her dreams of becoming a dancer start to dwindle, as she realises that the man who promised her everything really has nothing that special to offer, Maria turns to prostitution.
Maria later decides that to be the best in her profession, she should learn as much as she can about sex. Due to this, she gains one of the 'special' clients, a man who is into sadomasochism. It is also with him that she finally meets someone who she is able to love.
As with any of Coelho's novels, the writing is sensitive and very thought provoking. Having read this novel, it is easy to see how sex can easily be a weapon as well as a way of expressing love. The brief exploration of sadomasochism serves to illustrate how sex is precious, and while two lovers may want to experiment, they should always keep in mind that they should not risk their soul.
The quote I have used for the title of this review appears at the beginning of the novel. Coelho states that it could easily be applied to anybody's life, and almost at any time within their life. I quoted it because I think it sums up the whole theme of the novel brilliantly.
Please read this book, I cannot reommend it highly enough. Just perhaps, it'll make you look at sex differently...
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse