Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Real Witches' Garden: Spells,Herbs, Plants and Magical Spaces Outdoors
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 July 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Came in quickly, fantastic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2004
The same size as 'The Real Witches' Kitchen'(Pub by Element), 'The Real Witches' Garden is perfect company on the bookshelf. Both books have the most beautiful front covers!
Written in the typical Kate West style, this book sends you off into the Gardener's World, even if you are not normally green-fingered and may only have access to a window box!
The contents have obviously been well researched and tested.
Twelve chapters(178 pages) take you through to the Three Appendices which include 'What Witchcraft really Is', so a good starting point for the novice to The Craft, as well!
This section includes a definition of the eight Sabbats(Wheel of the Year) and follows on to a 'Terms and Definitions' section - a handy glossary of all you need to know!
[..]
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
I bought this book as a gift for someone. I returned it. I didn't get as far as reading the marterial as was very disappointed that there was very little illustration/photography. I wanted it to not just be a practical guide for a friend but also a visually inspiring resource book. It may be great if you just want tips or recipes but it was presented in a very boring way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Nice book, great information. Just what I was looking for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2005
Kate West's guide to Gardening the Witches way.
This is a wonderful book, so much information, including how to grow herbs to use for spells, planning your garden in fact everything magickally related for your garden! And if you have 20 acres or 20cm it doesn't matter anyone can really get something out of this book.
This is not a comprehensive guide to herbs etc, it might be good to use another herbs book in conjunction with this too. This is also brilliant to use with The Real Witches Kitchen I own both and they both work extremely well together.
Kate has also included information about Witchcraft so this would be a brilliant book for someone new to Witchcraft as well, though I would recommend getting a couple of Kate's other books if you are new too. And she has written some really good suggestions for Sabbats too.
All in all a brilliant book, and brilliant information as always.
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2006
I always find Kate West a brilliant read, and the Real Witches Garden is Kate at her best. I am a healer and Wise Woman and teach courses on wicca all around the UK. I regularly recommend Kate West's books to my students. They are sensible, no-nonsense, down to earth books that demystify the craft and make it accessible to anyone in a way that I try to get over in my courses. Therefore they are great course back up books.

WELL DONE KATE, YOU'VE DONE IT AGAIN!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
I dunno if anyone else has noticed but there's a vast array of witchy books flooding the market. It must be a very daunting prospect therefore to find a new angle upon which to write. Kate West has taken up this challenge, and stepped out of her kitchen taking us into her garden to explore gardening from a witchy perspective, and in doing so she's really succeeded in making such a subject interesting to this modern witch! Written in her usual non-condescending style, Kate talks us through her work with wit and eloquence. I must admit to owning all of her previous works, but was anxious to see how interesting this would be, having no previous experience of gardening yet being very keen to learn. Kate doesn't disappoint, inside this lovely-looking book you'll find a comprehensive guide to making your garden your very own sacred space. It's evident that this book has been a labour of love, and the subject has obviously been well-researched. There is information on planning your garden, and dedication rituals for your outdoor space. Of particular interest are the chapters on tiny and indoor gardens-a great idea, especially for urban witches who haven't the space ( or the time) to spend tending a large garden. There are suggestions for themed gardens, Elemental and Medicinal, and a comprehensive list of plants suitable for each. You'll find a lovely chapter-'Plants for Magic' as well as a somewhat expected chapter on Lunar Gardening and plant care. There's also a comprehensive glossary of terms, plus appendices, one entitled 'What Witchcraft really Is'. It seemed a bit odd to have such a chapter in a book which is really aimed towards a practioner, rather than a newbie to the craft, but even so, it is nice to read and sits well with the rest of the book. There're some lovely suggestions for Sabbat workings in this book. I've really enjoyed it, and will dip into it in the future months as I design and create my very own witchy garden. The only problem is this book really wants to make you rush out and make a start on it-but with a fair few inches of snow on the ground at the moment it's probably not the best time of year to begin gardening! I'd highly recommend this to my fellow readers, and I think it would make a perfect gift for a Witch-friend who is both new to gardening or a seasoned pruner.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2006
Reading this book made me realise the importance of having your own witches garden, be it large or small. It's very easy to buy what you need online but things that you have grown yourself will always be a hundred times more magical. Really gets you taking a closer look at the environment & how you can gain spiritually from it aswell as helping to preserve it.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2004
In this book Kate West has bought her wisdom, experience and wit to the subject of creating a sacred space in the Garden, be it window box or acres. This is not a gardening manual, if that is what you want try Alan Titchmarsh. This about taking Witchcraft back into the natural space. As usual Kate West provides a wealth if information on how to use your space to celebrate the Lord and Lady and to mark the Wheel of the Year. There is lots of information on herbs and plants and their uses, though this is not a comprehensive 'Herbal'. I found the book both fascinating and inspiring and I have never been that interested in Gardening. Kate West reminds us that the Craft is nature based and what better way to celebrate it, than to tend to Nature itself!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)