Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
16
3.8 out of 5 stars


on 17 June 2002
This book peers into the soul of the infamous Mary Tudor, the queen known best for burning Protestants. But as a young girl, her father shunted her off to the side, and had take up the job of nursemaid to her younger sister, Elizabeth (if you want to hear about Elizabth from Ms. Meyer, you can look at her Beware Princess Elizabeth). In Mary, you see longing and fear, and the occasional spurt of joy. I recommend it highly to almost anyone.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
this book is about marys teens and her young adult life it stops before she ascends the throne ,its good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Shocking to read that she was treated so cruelly. Understandable she became hard hearted and found her religion the only thing she had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
A very good book telling the story from Mary's side and explaining why the hatred for Anne Boleyn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2008
This is a compact book detailing the life of Princess Mary. It captures the young Princess's horror at the way her mother, Katherine of Aragon was treated by her Father Henry VIII and by Anne Boleyn. It also illustrates the shame and humiliation she must have felt when she was made to act as a serving girl for Anne Boleyns daughter, Princess Elizabeth. It is a testament to this book that I was thrilled when Queen Anne finally lost her power (and ultimately her head) and the evil women who had treated Princess Mary with such cruelty had the smiles wiped from their faces.

However the book just does not live up to the promise . . . you think you know me but do not judge my actions until you have heard my story . . . Yes it is all very understandable why Mary hated Anne Boleyn but this book does not cover how Mary came to be known as 'Bloody Mary'. It does not address her religious fanatacism. In short it does not address anything that the author cannot justify. Mary was a complex character - neither completely good or bad. Just as she was neither completely the victim or the monster but the author chooses not to discuss or explain any of this leaving us with a rather two dimensional and one sided view of Bloody Mary.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Never read much about Elizabeths half sister before. Was an eye opener. I loved the book because it showed what she was like and why she signed the death warrant for Lady Jane Grey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
All about her teenage years and what she was going through at the time when the king got his divorces from her mother...she was not do mean just proving her mother right
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
great story, very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
Ok,with your worst nightmare is learning about Henry viii and his eldest daughter, you will not get on with this book, at all! I personally love history, so that is why I enjoyed it soooo much! It is exciting,facsinating,a little serious but on the whole its a really good book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2007
I think you should read this book. For it recounts history in a fiction type of way. The author, Carolyn Meyer is talented at this type of writing I think. Because she makes the writing feel like its you writing the story. It is really addictive in a good sort of way. Every day, for the past 3 weeks, I read the book 4 times! Now I can quote it from memory. It's really cool. I really think you should read this book if you like history or fiction or both. Trust me, it is a great book.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here