Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
759
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2013
Absolutely superb historical fiction, brilliantly written with characters so real it's hard to believe they are fictional. Bernard Cornwell is the master at this. Buy it and read it. If medieval historical fiction is your bag it doesn't get better than the Warlord, King Alfred series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
To date I have read 1) and half of 2) in this series. 1) was very good and I loved the historical detail (accurate or not). With 2) I was put off by the continual back reference to 1) with the assumption that it was unknown. Never the less I look forward to completing the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Bernard Cornwells "Warrior Series" are excellent stories. I have read most of them but had missed this one, so I was glad to buy it at 99p
As the author says , there is a lot of English history before 1066. This series tells us about the Danes and King Alfred.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Pale Horseman is the sequel to the best selling Last Kingdom and continues the the tale of the great warrior Uhtred, born in Northumberland. Raised as a Viking but he is now married to a Saxon girl. He is a pagan and his alliance with the pious Alfred the Great does not sit easily on the shoulders of either man.

However after a disastrous truce with the Dane's, only Alfred's family and Uhtred and a small number of his companions are left of the leaders in Wessex and they have been driven deeper and deeper into a swamp, where they are helpless to try to gather forces to stand against the Dane's

The Vikings now hold most of England and it has been a disastrous time for the Saxons. Uhtred find himself torn between the growing respect he has for Alfred and the love he has for his Danish foster brother and the all conquering Vikings. He has to wrestle with his heart and decide whether to try and rally the Saxons and drive out the Vikings, or change sides and go to his foster brother.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
I love these bools so much more than the BBC series which inspired me to read them. I love the narrative and get totally immersed in the story the moment I start reading and find it difficult to stop. I am on the third book now and love the way the story is unfolding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
An outsider gathering a band of misfits and thugs to fight the fight against all foes, sound familiar. If you liked Sharpe this is without the muskets and the French. You get what you expect and try to recognise the towns and cities, looking forward to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Like all books in the Warrior Chronicle series, this book is woven around the actual events that took place throughout history. It fills in the details that were lost to time using a heroic warrior, Uhtred, to tell a story that makes exciting and compelling reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
I found the whole series riviting and fascinating a very good read indeed, I thoroughly enjoyed them all. Whilst the main character is fictitious there are many interesting facts of history used which makes it more interesting as many of the historic places exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
This series is brilliant. It incorporates so much history into a very readable story. I can't wait to get the next book in this saga. My hubby is a slow reader, but he has devoured these books and is really animated about the plots each time he puts the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I rally enjoyed this. It is an action packed historical adventure with lots of battles, lots of historical detail and lots of stuff you can only get away with in a novel. An excellent, escapist romp, perfect to read on holiday and me exciting than the TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse