Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2003
I have had this book for several months now and unlike every other cookbook on my shelf, it really has been used and is beginning to look a bit dog-eared! The recipes are great and easy to follow, there are no "strange" or "hard to find" ingredients. You will find simple recipes like how to cook a roast, to how to make Thai Green Curry (one of the best recipes for Thai Green Curries I've ever found). Even the basics are covered, like how to cook great rice and make great mashed potatoe.
The only problem is that it doesn't have any recipes for desserts, but this will be covered in her second book "Modern Classics Book 2". Otherwise, an essential kitchen tool for the person who wants to improve and expand their cooking skills!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2004
This book is a joy to look at with stylish, mouthwatering pictures accompanying every recipe. But it is also a joy to use with simple, clear instructions and lots of hints and tips. For novice cooks, it gives you the confidence to try dishes which look impressive but are really quite simple. For those who are more confident in the kitchen, there are lots of ideas here that can be adapted depending on what you happen to have in your cupboard at the time. I often turn to it for inspiration for quick supper dishes as well as for more special meals. Recipes are grouped by common ingredients, with chapters on pasta, pulses, salads etc, and by regions, with chapters on mediterranean and asian cooking. The premise of the book is that it gives a modern twist on traditional old favourites. Donna Hay certainly achieves this - and gives heaps of inspiring new ideas as well, which will have you itching to get cooking and eating!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2006
This is how cookbooks should be written. The recipes are short, without any preamble about good the result will taste, and give you the highlights of what is the most important part of the recipe. The recipe for French onion soup is one of the best that I have ever used and produces perfect results every time. My wife, who is a self confessed non-cook, made the cheese soufflé - trust me on this: soufflés are the Everest of dishes! - and it was perfect and absolutely delicious.
She doesn't muck about, she doesn't lecture (like Delia) and she sticks to the point. There are nice big pictures to show you what it'll look like at the end and there is a glossary at the back and a kit list. If you lack confidence in the kitchen or want a bible of dinner party savers then this is the book for you.
Highly recommended - I shall be buying her other books.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
I bought this book many moons ago (2001) in a closing down shop for peanuts!! I at this point in life never heard of this author/chef. There is one recipe that my friends and family love and that is her lasagne. It is absolutely amazing. The simplicity of the flavours work very well.

The book it self is easy to understand therefore easy to follow. The photos depicting the various meals reinforces that we do eat with our eyes and the other recipes in the book are delicious too.

As the title reads "Classics" but in my opinion it's more than that. I have today just purchased her Fast Fresh and Simple and will eventually get around writing a review when I've tried at least a dozen of her meals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Great and I received it on expected time . This is a marvellous book and the service has been very good.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Lovely book cant wait to try some of the recipies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
super book and good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Really good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Ok book. You can find these recipes in other books, which makes it less unique. Good recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse