Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
Nice story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
A great book by Josephine Cox
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2004
This book started well with a little bit of excitement but fell into a morass of twee clichés which send you skimming over the pages looking for something a bit more original. hots up again towards the end but is ultimately unconvincing.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2004
I have three words for this book; enchanting, quaint and mesmerizing.
I always defined good books, as a book that will not allow you to put it down; this book achieves that and so much more.
Based around two very different people brought together almost by destiny, the story follows Tom and Kathy's struggle to overcome their tortured pasts, each locked in the turmoil of their own mixed emotions and striving to find inner peace.
The author astounds you with her ability to make each emotion heartfelt while keeping a captivating mysterious story line.
Ever thought of totally escaping from it all, fleeing to your own paradise ?? This books charm and imagery will make this a reality.
Concluding this book is a supreme read, pour a hot drink, grab a few pillows and get ready for a long night!.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2004
I thought this book might be a bit like Rosamunde Pilcher or Maeve Binchy, but it is not. It is extremely predictable. Half the people go mad/are psycho's (two are psycho killers and a few more harmless psycho's around too), which is a bit unbelievable.
The style is infantile and tends to annoy (everyone says "eh" after a sentence, maybe some people talke like that, eh?, but not all the time, eh? Or am I wrong, eh?). Also, everyone in this book talks to themselves especially Kathy. "I must go and see Tom" she muttered. She got up and murmered "I so miss him". It is as if Josephine can only express her character's thoughts if she lets them talk to themselves, but like the "eh"-thing, it becomes annoying.
The storyline is too crap for words. And listen to what the writer says about Kathy: Her tiny waist mesmerised him, as did her large firm round breasts. ...Come on !
I cannot believe this writer is so popular, this book was just rubbish.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
I am a would-be novelist and after the first few chapters decided to read this as an example of how not to write! As already mentioned the character's habits of talking to themselves is cumbersome and annoying and the repeated cliches of wagging his/ her finger and being "shocked to the roots" were repeated enough to be annoying. In addition the characters were capable of lurching from joy to rage in the space of the same paragraph. Lovely plot, but the above annoyances and the trite descriptive pieces kept pulling me back to the fact that I was reading a book, so I was never able to "loose" myself. Very disappointing!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
This is the first book Inhave read by Josephine Cox and I really enjoyed it. The story opens in London 1952 and we meet the lovely Kathy Is disillusioned and lonely after her divorce and her father having died the year before. On a night out with her pal Maggie Kathy receives a call from her mother as it appears she has inherited a cottage in West Bay, Dorset and her mother wants nothing to do with as it appears it was a secret love nest and her father had been having an affair for years. Kathy's mother has been to visit the cottage but can do nothing as it has been left solely to Kathy. Kathy decides she will not sell it so she makes a big decision and leaving her good friend Maggie behind she packs up her job and flat in London and decides to go and make a new start in the cottage her father spent the happiest days of his life in down in West Bay.

Tom also lives in London and has lost his family in a terrible tragedy and desperately wants to make a new start somewhere and has decided to go and rent a place in West Bay. Both Kathy and Tom have not met but their paths have crossed a couple of times in the story so far. Tom makes all his plans and arrives in West Bay before Kathy and we are given a description of this seaside town which is a welcome contrast to 1950s London.

It is wonderful to read about Kathy finally arriving in West Bay only to find a run down cottage but her sheer determination to make it work no matter what is very inspiring. She meets the local handyman who helps her and who turns out to be instrumental in her meeting Tom. Once they do eventually meet and love begins to blossom some intriguing coincidences start to emerge as Tom wants to find out what happened to his family. Kathy in the meantime is trying to discover who the woman was that loved her father and who waited for him.

The tale takes a twist just when when after Kathy's sister decides she is going to try get a share of the cottage and force Kathy to sell it and unexpectedly lands on her doorstep to try to ruin everything. The story then develops into a thriller where you are not sure who to trust and shocking things start to happen. Tom starts to piece together the jigsaw puzzle of what he now believes was the murder of his family and at this point we are also introduced to his former secretary Lillian and then the plot thickens as it appears Lilian was secretly in love with him and becomes a suspect.

Ultimately Kathy and Tom take a leap of faith to make a change and because of that they find love and also solve a mystery or two.

The story is very atmospheric especially in 1950's London and is a delightful trip back to another time.

A wonderful story that stays with you long after the final chapter.

Sent from my iPad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Easy reading and hard to put down. Characters are totally believable and the story is written clearly and with a comfortqble pace. I have bouught a few of this authors books to take on hol but I started reading this one and have to finish it now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I read this on holiday. A lovely book, I will read it time and time again.
It inspired me to buy more of Josephine's novels and they never fail to keep me wanting more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
Another great book by Josephine Cox ,great writing ..i find it difficult to put the book down .highly recomend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse