Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2008
Written by award-winning journalist Lynne McTaggart, "The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe" is a ground-breaking book exhaustively exploring the enchanting complexities and wondrous discoveries of modern-day 21st century science, adducing remarkable evidence to prove that "The Zero Point Field" connects everything we have seen, heard or encountered to the wide, convoluted tapestry of human experiences.
Renowned for her wit, diligence and profundity, McTaggart deftly delineates how we are all connected - not just to one another, but also to nature, places and everything else that has ever happened in our universe - collating meticulous research, extensive interviews, and historic documents to craft a palatable, inventive message that wonderfully stretches the imagination like never before.
Human potential, she advances, can far surpass what modern science stipulates. This contention, though, is not without it's detractors; and, not least to her astonishment, many have rallied to villify this legitimate presentation of the theory that there is a measurable "life-force" in the universe. But of the numerous discursions into the frustratingly opaque area of quantum physics, none, of course, shine with the same stirring brilliance and polished mastery like those in the last electrifying third of this best-selling book. In part three, readers are afforded the rare opportunity to hear hallowed scientists Bill Church, Hal Puthoff, Karl Pribram, Ed Mitchell, Robert Jahn and Rupert Sheldrake express their thoughts, feelings and concerns on the controversial subject.
Creator and publisher of the astonishing 1999 release "What Doctors Don't Tell You", McTaggart produces not only one of the most inspiring novels in the last few years, but also one that is buttressed by compelling research culled from all corners of the world. Despite it's abstruse concepts, "The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe" is imbued with a gripping readability, replacing the widely-accepted and conventional perpection of man with a vivid, arresting depiction of collective strength, spiritual attainment and human transcendence. Offering unparalleled insight into the world of the supernatural, "The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe" is fraught with multiple surprises, scintillating twists and extraordinary information: readers of all stripes - scientists, New Agers, physicists, philosophers - will definitely rush to grab onto this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2008
Lynne McTaggart gives a very detailed picturesc and journalistic coverage of these extremely interesting experiments. It does cover the same old subjects as some other books that are around at the moment but it is relatively unbiased and very clear about them. It is left entirely for the reader to decide what to make of the facts. What I make of it so far is that if 99.9% of the universe is made of 'dark matter' and 99.9% of matter is empty space, and all empty space is thoroughly ridden with 'virtual' particles, that arise from fluctuations in the 'zero-point energy field', only to anihilate each other almost immediately after coming into being, then what else could this 'dark matter' be, if not the combined mass of this unimagineably vast number of 'virtual' particles that exist temporarily everywhere all the time? It would explain why they've not found any yet. This book gives full details of experiments in psychokinesis, remote viewing, and precognition/premonition, and advice that anyone doing these experiments themselves can pick up on. The amount of research that has gone into this book makes it a real gem, even if you have already read other books on the same subject.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
I wanted to shout loud about the brilliance of this book in the hope that you wouldn't be put of reading it because of the scientific content. I think McTaggart has used the correct, proper terminology in order to maintain credibility, she is obviously an extra-ordinary thinker with a desire to change the blocked - stubborn- dogmatic scientific culture that we have inherited from the intelligent but unwise predecessors of the subjects described in this book.
I am dyslexic so reading is a grand undertaking (vastly improved now thanks to Davis's "The Gift of Dyslexia" but that's another story!) Whilst reading this book I consciously omitted the need to understand it's content at a conscious level. What I mean is that the gist is what's important. I would encourage anyone to read and don't try to "hear" all that is said in it's entirety, there is no need.
E.g. when McTaggart says :

"Independently of Hameroff, Yasue and his colleague Mari Jibu, of the Department of Anaesthesiology, Okayamma University, in Japan, had also theorised that the quantum messaging of the brain must take place through vibration fields, along the microtubules of cells. Etc etc..."

I recommend scanning all that long winded blurb and translating it to :
"more than one person recon that our brains are connected to the energy."
Simple !
I hope to pass on the huge value of this brilliant book, please don't get bogged down in the text and miss a rare opportunity to learn about the implications of quantum physics and everyday life. This has to be the most accessible and easy to read (if you translate the blurb) human, heart felt plea for the world to wake up and realise the whole connected truth.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
In a compelling read somewhat reminiscent of The Dancing Wu Li Masters: Overview of the New Physics, Lynne McTaggart investigates the concept of 'the Zero-Point Field' and re-evaluates many of the assumptions of early XXI century science about issues such as consciousness, perception, cell communication and the unifying electro-magnetic field - the 'ether' of yesteryear.

Firmly focused on scientific evidence and on the rise of a new paradigm, this thrilling volume will stimulate the debate about the true nature of the Universe and the coming-of-age of the 'science vs. spirituality' debate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
Ms McTaggart does a good job in showing how various metaphysical occurrences rhyme with modern scientific insights, but, even though she takes care not to use scientific language or the equations and algebra of physics, it is still darned hard work to grapple with.

I was left wondering why we need all this. Science is the slowcoach, 'discovering' events which the mystics have been aware of for thousands of years. That science is unable to prove something which has been known for millennia does not mean that the occurrence is invalid - simply that science is using tools and measuring equipment which are not adequate, rather like trying to measure the circumference of the world with a 12" ruler.

Bravo to Ms McTaggart for trying, but this reviewer finds it all an exercise in absurdity. The best bet for understanding the phenomena such as telepathy and clairvoyance with which science is wrestling, but which continues to elude its grasp, is to experience it for yourself, and to leave the worrying to the scientists. The correct methodology is insight and intuition, and not the intellect of science.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2004
The book is unscientific nonsense and clearly stems from the author's desire for spiritualism and a sense of cosmic awe. Whilst zero point energy is clearly an interesting phenomenon,
extrapolation of a poorly understood concept to support new age hocus pocus is laughable. If the reader wishes to amuse themselves with the delusions of Lynne McTaggart, then this book
possibly is worth reading. Anyone looking for serious and credible science, steer well clear.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
If you're thinking about buying this, then you should. Its a complex subject, but easy to read, and very thought provoking. Having said that many of the concepts are covered in The Intention Experiment.The Intention Experiment: Use Your Thoughts to Change the World, which is the follow-up to this; it's also more up-to-date. Even so this really is worth a read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
I have read lots of books on this theme but I found I struggled a little with this one. She is reviewing the scientific evidence for how we are affected by the field and as such I found it complex and quite a difficult read. It is well researched and certainly well written but I had to take it in stages as the subject matter is quite mind boggling. Worth persevering with.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2008
Although written for the lay man, this book does take some concentration for those of us who have never studied physics. That said, it is well worth the effort. A fascinating read that will make you look at life, the world and the whole universe in a completely new way
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Glanced through copy in book-shop a couple of years ago, almost dropped it due to helpless giggles.

Really, it should be in the 'fantasy' section. IIRC, author lacks least clue to what she's talking about, misunderstands basics of 'Scientific Method', ignores the simplest checks required to disprove her ditzy assertions...

If you're into 'NewAge Nonsense', this is a book for you.
Otherwise, give it as a cruel joke.
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)