Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
304
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2004
Not only does this book look beautiful but it is a wonderful read too. Garth Nix creates a wonderful world which the reader can believe in and where you care about the characters. This is an un-put-downable read and a pleasurable one at that (no frowning and trying to follow the story line here). These books would be great for encouraging reluctant teenagers to pick up a book and read or just a fabulous choice for lazy weekend reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
This book for me was a chance finding and now im hooked. Its bursting with ideas and fresh stories and I found myself glued to the page. The story starts strong and keeps up the tempo with some great characters and a pacy gripping plot. If you enjoyed Phillip Pullman and his dark materials then you are just waiting to find this. The sequel follows on with a tolkienesk map of the old kingdom just to add a name to the face if Nix hasn't already imprinted the scenery in your mind. A fantastic read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2004
Sabriel has got to be, my favourite book of all time. Garth Nix has shown incredible imagination and ability to put his imagination into such a vivid and descriptive book, I could never get bored of this book! Each chapter is as exciting as the next, with an unpredictable storyline that's full of suprises and twists, aswell as being entertaining and inspirational. Highly recommended, it's guaranteed to amaze anyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
Omg i thought that was an amazing book and ive read a few! i read all 3 in a weekend they are 1 of the most imaginative books that i have read it was totally original. where he came up with i dont no but im glad he did. it kept me alive on holiday really.there an amazing series of books i would strongly recomend u read them! the plot is smart and gripping and to be honest im tugh 2 please as a reader as ive read 1000s of books in 13 yrs and i no wat i want.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
This is the best magical adventure story ever it is so real you almost know the characters by the end of the book and you want to read the sequal within five minutes after finishing this. Thes story follows Sabriel daughter of the Abhorsen, when he goes missing she must journey into the old kingdom to help restore the king and peace to the country, the only thing that stand in her way, an army of undead.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2004
This is an amazing book!
Sabriel must go on a dangerous mission to save her father, the Aborhsen.
Her rwo companions are Mogget, a free magic creature in the form of a cat, and Touchstone, a man trapped in death who Sabriel brought back.
They must fight the dead back untill her father is saved and then they will be able to stop for good the evil Kerrigor, one of the greater dead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2003
I have read about three quarters of this book and so far have enjoyed every minute of it. I cannot wait to find out what is going to happen in the end.
I can't wait also to read the second book (The follow up to Sabriel)- Lirael- I have read some peoples reviews and it sounds just as good, if not better than Sabriel.
I think Garth Nix is an excellent writer and I also think that Sabriel is WICKED!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
I'm not much for reading but this book is the best thing I've read its so good that when i finished it i went out and got the other books in the collection. After finishing them and Across the wall I have bought all of his books. I think this writer is one of the most gifted people I've even heard of cant wait till they make a film of it I'll be the first in line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2004
Sabriel - what a book! Completely mind-blowing!

Sabriel, a daughter of the Mage Abhorsen, finds her going into the Old Kingdom to find her missing father. Question: Where is her father and where is his spirit? In Life or beyond one of the Nine Gates of Death?

Read the rest of the series! You will not be disappointed. Better still, someone turn into a film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2004
This book is the best ever!! It is because of this book that i have finelly decided what it is i want to do when i get older!
You see it is my ambition to turn this work of greatness (and its companions) into a film! So i want to be a film maker/director!!! I can't wait and i will be so gutted if someone does it before me!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse