Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
105
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2017
Firstly, let me say that I am a die hard Agatha Christie fan. I love her books and re-read my favourites with regularity. I've made my way through the majority of her books and plays - both with Poirot and Marple and without. This book concerns, not her famous detectives, but a retired policeman who stumbles upon a mystery and sets about getting to the bottom of it. This one simply did not grip for me. It begins well, the whole atmosphere of the 'golden age' is set and the premise is good. However, it became simply interminable about half way through. The idea is doubtless a good one as is the plotting to see this through but it just seemed to become endless reiteration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
One of Agatha Christie's not Miss Marple and not Hercule Poirot detective stories.Based on a series of crimes nobody is really sure have really been committed,this story features a retired English policeman who decides to set himself on a course of investigation into the not so tranquil life of an English village only on the strenght of an encounter with an old English lady on a train.Maybe not the best story Agatha christie has ever written,but definitely not the worst either!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
An Agatha Christie novel that I hadn't read before. It was just an enthralling as all her plots and just wish it was longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Yet another great story from Agatha Christie. This one does not have Poirot or Miss Marple solving the case but this does not make this story any less interesting. Once again, you don't know the murderer until the end. This is a must for any fan of this type of media and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
always liked achristie this is one of my favourits stories and i still like reading crime books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
This is a must for the people who are addicted to audio books ...I loved this story.. And have listened to it over and over again. And each time enjoyed it as much as the last....it was great when ironing or cooking.!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Very entertaining radio 4 adaptation of Agatha Christie tale. The usual high quality production and found this a very enjoyable way to while a way commute to and from work listening to this in the car.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
I love reading Agatha Christie novels and it is great to be able to listen to them being enacted. I particularly enjoy dramatic presentations such as this one rather than listening to someone reading it because it makes the story 'come alive' for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
adapted well from the book. a good listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
brought for friend who loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£6.55

Need customer service? Click here