Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 25 June 2016
I'd remembered this story from an old tv adaptation - but the book is much more interesting - simply written for a much younger reader than myself - easy to read because of that - it's a delicate drama of class and the way some things were when I were a young'un - with a bit of spookiness thrown in. It'll keep you out of trouble for the short time it takes to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2017
Brilliant story inspired by the Mabinogion. I love how Garner mixes the realm of myth with social problems, and by doing so comments on how past traumas repeat themselves across history. A classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2017
Excellent book. deserves reading more than once ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
Summer reading for 10 year old - loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2017
Love all Alan Garner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2015
Excellent, took me back to my youth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2017
great book. nice author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 April 2011
I am a great admirer of Alan Garner's work, and share his fascination with certain themes - an almost obsessive sense of place, in which locations and geography assume lives of their own; a feeling of the past threatening to overwhelm the present; the 'Stone Tape' theory; English rural folklore. The Owl Service is at once tragic, beautiful, difficult, touching and brutal, and I can't help wondering if, were a children's writer to attempt to publish a book like this today, any publisher would have the guts to take it on. These days, we seem scared to challenge children with books like this - books that are exquisitely written, uncompromising and ambiguous. Thank god for the 60s...
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2010
This is taken from the story of the Goddess Blodeuwedd and written in such a way that it brings the story to life. Set in a Welsh valley you are taken on a journey of discovery as the tale unravels. The valley is not named but that does not matter it is the characters that are important. The people of the valley relive the tale of Blodeuwedd.I found it hard to put down and enjoyed the refeshing way the tale was told. A must have book in my veiw especially if you like tales of the Gods and Goddesses.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2017
As confusing as ever, but after 50 years, still a blooming good read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse