Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
44
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Secret of Chimneys (Agatha Christie Signature Edition)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 March 2012
Fans of Christie's mature mysteries might be disappointed, as this is more of a comedy spy thriller than a classic who-dunnit. However, as a period piece it is fascinating, and while the writer has clearly been influenced by PG Wodehouse, we can see the seeds of Christie's later skilful characterisation developing in such memorable creations as Virginia Revel. If you can suspend disbelief and think yourself back into the non-p.c.world of the British Empire of the 1920s, you are in for an escapist treat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
Super !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
As good and attention grabbing as I expect and enjoy from Agatha Christie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Really enjoyed this CD and I love Hugh Fraser reading the story. A must for Agatha Christie fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
I loved every page of it.Thank you. Well written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Thoroughly emjoyable. Always a good read even when you know the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Exciting with Happy ending!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Excellent item as advertised. Very speedy delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
I love this story! Admittedly it is more light-hearted than the more familiar classic Christie mysteries, but it's so well done. It has a complicated plot, in a good way, with lots of good characters. The pompous patriotic Lomax, thorn in the flesh of the bumbling lacksadaisical Lord Caterham, who in turn is the father of the live wire that is Lady Eileen "Bundle" Brent, to name but three, all jump off the page. This unabridged audio version is wonderful, read by the excellent Hugh Fraser with just the right light touch. Only the best narrators can "do" all the voices both distinctly and convincingly, especially the opposite sex. I doubt that you will guess whodunnit, and even if you do, there are still more secrets to be revealed at chimneys.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 March 2017
Anthony Cade agrees to undertake a commission for an old friend but he soon finds himself involved in something much more complex and more serious than he expected. A variety of people try to get hold of the manuscript which he is delivering to a London publisher in a variety of ways.

But all the plotting and planning leads the various protagonists to a complex denouement at a country house called Chimneys where Superintendent Battle and a man from the French police as well as various other people are set on finding out the truth.

I found this quite a confusing narrative and I suspect I'm going to need to read it, or listen to it, again to fully understand the various ramifications of the plot. I do like Superintendent Battle as well as Lady Eileen - also known as Bundle - who appears in later books featuring Battle.

It is an enjoyable tale of Ruritanian politics which is having an effect on the international stage and I think you have to read it in the context of the times in which it was written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse