Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
48
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Sheila Webb is sent to an address to take some shorthand dictation. She works for a secretarial agency. When she gets there she finds an empty house and a dead body. She runs out of the house and straight into the arms of Colin Lamb - a friend of DI Hardcastle - who will be investigating the case.

The clocks in the room with the body are a mystery. Only two of them work and the remaining four are all set to 4.13pm though the cuckoo clock strikes three when Sheila arrives. The other four clocks do not belong to the owner of the house.

Naturally the first suspect is Sheila and eventually Hercule Poirot is called in to investigate. While this is a Poirot novel he really doesn't feature very much in the story so if you are reading the book solely for his investigations then you may be disappointed.

I enjoyed the book and it really did keep me guessing as the mystery is gradually unravelled. It is very well plotted and I loved the way Hardcastle and Lamb set about working out what is going on and who is the murderer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 January 2017
I enjoyed this reading this book. It's well written, around an intriguing mystery, with interesting characters.

Yet it didn't really satisfy me, not the way other Agatha Christie books do. Here are the three reasons why this is not my favourite:

1.I guessed the identity of the murderer as soon as the second body was found, long before the detectives made the obvious connections. (I won't tell you whodunnit, because I don't want to spoil your pleasure.)

2. The book features Hercule Poirot... but his role feels grafted on. He contribute any insights or do anything beyond speaking cryptic utterances.

3. Too many unconnected threads tie up conveniently at the end. I won't spell out what they are, since this would give away some of the solutions. I'll just say that the scope of this coincidences stretches my willingness to suspend disbelief.

Still, it's not a bad book, and if you're a fan of Agatha Christie, it's worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
First, the good. This novel introduces a plethora of excellent characters surrounding a Crescent where a most peculiar murder takes place in the home of a blind woman. The leading investigators are a Detective Inspector and a marine biologist who seems to work for both MI5 and MI6 - perhaps Christie was unaware of the distinction? There are, of course, ancillary murders - which led me to discover half the puzzle. Without giving the game away too much, I will now try to describe what's wrong with this book.

Christie was in her 70s when she wrote this, and obviously sick of Poirot - he doesn't make much contribution until the "action" is almost over. However, the main problem here is that the puzzle is unbelievable, and therefore, logically unsolvable. The culprit has some knowledge that they couldn't possibly have and the reason for the initial killing, and the circumstances surrounding it are, in my view, ridiculous and involve some irrational behaviour that is totally unexplained. There is also at least one error in the run-up to Poirot's summing-up - but this is sloppy, not fundamental - and, as I said, Christie was in her 70s.

Almost to the presentation of the solution, this is an excellent novel - well-written, good characters, and an interesting plot - let down in the home straight. The feeling I get is that Christie lost interest when it came to explaining the tangled web she wove! One almost gets the feeling that, as she aged, she could have developed a second career as a writer of excellent "straight" novels - she certainly had the insight and the technical ability. As I said in the title, mostly worth reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2005
This Six disc Audio book gives you seven and a half hours of listening well worth the money. I found the Clocks quite funny, Agatha Christie has a good line in humor and Hugh Fraser does a very good job of portraying this humor in his performance.
Wilbraham Crescent certainly seems an interesting place to live!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 February 2007
I am a huge fan of Agatha Christie and so while I enjoyed this book, it's definitely not vintage. Having said that, she's still miles better at plotting, characterisation and sheer ability to tell a story that most other 'popular' authors out there.

As other reviews have said, the denoument is a let down, since it doesn't really tie up any of the mysterious ends - just disposes of them in a deux ex machina fashion. The dual narrative was a bit irritating too, and the minor role played by Poirot.

Having said all that, it's still one of those books that will hook you and not let go till you reach the end - perfect for a dull tube journey!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2000
I recommend The Clocks to all fans of the murder mystery novel and to those of us grateful that Agatha Christie got into print and stayed there!
It is only a short time since I read my previous umpteenth Agatha Christie book and it won't be long before I'm back, I'm sure.
Even though the style is rather twee these days, there is no doubt that Christie's it kept me spellbound. I don't say this lightly: I realised about half of the way through the book that we hadn't seen a huge amount of action but I was reading and happy to carry on reading. Although there is blood and gore in a murder by stabbing, as was the primary event in this book, it doesn't dominate the story in an Agatha Christie book. There is no Hollywood style overkill (no pun intended) here.
The detectives are unassuming people. The other characters are often unassuming people. Even Hercule Poirot is unassuming; and he is the centre of this story by many measures, although he didn't appear in this story until it was almost half way through.
Of course, it is impossible to beat Poirot to the chase, as it is impossible to beat Miss Marple to the chase. I was determined, by the way, to pay attention and get there first this time; but of course I didn't. It's not possible! There are many red herrings in these books, together with information that the reader just cannot get to. Christie made her career out of red herrings and information underload; and we thrive on it don't we?: otherwise a murder mystery would simply become something like: man gets murdered, someone investigates the murder, the murderer is found. No need for Poirot, no need for Marple, no need to read the book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
This book by Agatha Christie centres around discovering the identity of a man found stabbed in the house of a blind woman - Miss Pebmarsh. There is also an attractive young typist (Sheila Webb) who has been ordered to visit the blind woman's house for contract work and on finding the dead man she runs screaming from the house into the arms of an investigator and police assistant.

The majority of the book hardly involves Poirot at all until the end when he unravels the mystery behind all the murders. The plot is woven by the investigations of Detective Inspector Dick Hardcastle and his unofficial investigator/spy friend - Colin Lamb with occasional consultations by Lamb to Poirot for advice along the way.

This story reminds me of Agatha's Miss Marple book - 4:50 from Paddington - where Marple investigates the murder of the dead woman in a large mansion by proxy through an acquaintance - Lucy Eyelesbarrow. Marple solves the whole mystery at the end without direct involvement. Poirot does the same here in 'The Clocks' and whenever Agatha does this in her books, to me at least, the pacing slows down as the Police fumble through the investigation and the plot becomes confusing and sometimes tiring to read.

I think Agatha did this in 'The Clocks' as she found it hard to find a reason to place Poirot at the scene of the crime without the permission of an official personage - such as Chief Inspector Japp in other Poirot stories. Another reason could be the section in 'The Clocks' where Poirot is at home in London reading many other murder mysteries and commenting on the detectives in question. In particular, Poirot (Agatha Christie) has an affection for Sherlock Holmes books - not for the plotting, but for the characters.

I have read all the Sherlock Holmes books and there is a strong emphasis by Conan Doyle on the ability of the 'armchair reasoner' (Sherlock Holmes) being able to solve a mystery on possession of the facts alone without direct involvement. He does this by proxy with Dr Watson occasionally and I think Agatha has tried to emulate this with the Hardcastle/Lamb characters in 'The Clocks'. Despite what Agatha Christie thinks about Sherlock Holmes, Conan Doyle really is much better at plotting than she is and many stories, though short, are more interesting and enthralling. In her biography, Agatha admitted that the Poirot/Hastings characters were a derivative of the Holmes/Watson investigators.

All in all, this story is not that compelling. There are too few clues for the reader to really grasp the identity of the murderer themselves without the vital facts discovered by Poriot but never revealed until the end.

But, Agatha's strength as a crime writer is in her wonderful ability to portray dialogue and weave strong alibis. She states in her biography "the best plot is where the murderer has a cast iron alibi and could not possibly have committed the crime. Yet, only to find out at the end that they actually DID commit the crime but managed to hide their tracks very effectively." (summary not direct quote).

Agatha never quite manages this approach in 'The Clocks' but there are Poirot classics such as 'Lord Edgware Dies' and 'The Murder of Roger Ackroyd' that do this very effectively.

In closing, the screen adaptation of this story with David Suchet as Poirot is much better than the book. It manages to keep all the important clues, loose all the surplus nonsense which lead nowhere and present a story that probably should have been edited better by the publishers in the first place.

A good story, but not one of Agatha Christie's best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Agatha Christie's The Clocks continues the theme of Poirot novels without really featuring the character for most of the narrative, as if the author head by this point become horrifically bored of her star detective but has to keep him in for the marketing value of his name on the cover.

It's a fairly straightforward story with a mix of suspects, clues and red herring that you might expect, with an interesting subplot between some of the characters. It doesn't really add anything dramatically new, and a lot if the clues seemed fairly obvious and I managed to successfully work out the solution before the reveal.

The best feature of this novel is actually the humour. Christie writes with sharp sarcasm introducing a wide range of quite deep characters as witnesses are visited and interviewed by the investigators. There are many winks to a knowing audience and this I absolutely loved.

An average Christie novel I think, though worth it if you've read a few for some good fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
A late and to my mind unfair production of Agatha Christie's. A glaring impossibility in drawing the red herring across the trail, which leaves the reader feeling somewhat cheated.

Not her best, but worth it if you want to complete your collection and are prepared to forgive her in the light of all the excellent books that went before.

Probably not one to start with as a new Christie reader!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 1999
I picked up this book at the library, (mainly because of the title) and was a good read until the end. I found the solution disappointing and could have been much better considering the immense building of the plot. Still, it hasn't given me any reason to doubt Christie's writing ability, and was totally surprised in the revealing of the murderer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here