Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
58
4.6 out of 5 stars
A Pocket Full of Rye (Miss Marple)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 May 2017
A country house, a set of odd characters, an inspector, Miss Marple and, of course, a murderer. Miss Marple does not appear until about a third of the way in, albeit briefly, and then again for the final third of the novel. Poison is the weapon of choice and there are several murders. For me, this was flat. The prose was not 'sparkling', characters felt under developed and it was all very 'matter of fact'. It's enjoyable enough and certainly worth reading but overall it felt disappointing and unsatisfying when compared to Agatha Christie's other works and it just didn't seem to have the usual charisma.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2017
This book was not one of Christie's best. The plot was complicated and unconvincing, the characters unlikely, and Miss Marple's deductions were, to say the least, totally improbable! But as usual, the villain of the piece wasn't revealed until the very end, and the book was just about worth a read if you've got nothing better to do. Unusually for Agatha Christie, this is not one I'd recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
i have just started to read the miss Marple books, this one had me guessing right to the end. a really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
amazing as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Great read thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Enjoying reading Agatha all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Lovely read, nicely complicated plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 October 2017
As anybody who reads the Miss Marple books knows, she often trains young housemaids, so they can go into service. When Miss Marple reads that one of the young maids she trained, Gladys Martin, has been found strangled - a clothes peg left on her nose - in the garden of the house where she worked, she sets off at once to see who did such a wicked thing. Murder had already visited the family, as the head of the household, Mr Rex Fortecue, was poisoned at work and, in his pocket, was a handful of rye…

The crimes in this novel are all lined to the nursery rhyme, “Sing a song of sixpence…” and yet it all seems unbelievable to Detective Inspector Neele, who is sent to investigate. However, as Miss Marple points out to him, there must be blackbirds and, indeed, there are blackbirds. She quickly gets to know the members of the family and, of course, manages to unravel the reasons behind the murders. Meanwhile, D.I. Neele, having heard of Miss Marple’s reputation, is quite happy to listen to what she has to say.

This is one of my favourite Miss Marple mysteries. I love the opening of the book, the characters and the way Christie deftly creates the various plot twists. Miss Marple is also very involved in the storyline and her outrage on Gladys behalf is wonderful to see. Although never emotional, she is obviously quite attached to those young girls who pass through her little cottage in St Mary Mead, and she is determined to see justice done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
When a rich man dies under very mysterious circumstances, Miss Marple becomes interested. However, when she begins to really follow the details of what has happened, she quickly realizes that more murders are sure to follow. This is a very deep mystery, and only Jane Marple can find out what is really going on and why!
Jane Marple was the literary creation of that most famous of English mystery writers, Agatha Christie (1890-1976). For those of you unfamiliar with Miss Marple, she was your stereotypical elderly spinster-lady, who loves to gossip and grow her flowers. But, even more, she has a razor-sharp mind that she uses to solve mysteries, using her own brand of lateral thinking that allows her see clearer than anyone else around her.
This is actually Agatha Christie's sixth Miss Marple novel, written in 1953. (The first one was The Murder at the Vicarage (1930), and the second one was Sleeping Murder, which was written in 1940 but locked away to be published after Ms. Christie's death in 1976.) Overall, I found this to be a fascinating read. If you love a good mystery, then get this book - it is a great mystery, one of the best ones ever written. I give this book my highest recommendations!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
Another standard murder mystery for Miss Marple, with a fortunate coincidence which involves her to assist the befuddled policeman. Perhaps by this point in her career, Christie's opinion of the police had dropped.

The setting was quite similar to the previous novel: large country house, complicated family, all with adequate motives, several not who they say they are. This one was better done, with plenty of red herrings mixed in with the real clues.

The inclusion of the titular cereal and its follow-ups seems unnecessary - yes, perhaps nursery rhymes were Christie's inspirations for some of her novels but I doubt many authors continue it into the narrative when it isn't important to the plot.

Overall, a good quick read - I wasn't certain at the end but the suspicions were certainly there. There's plenty more Marple books on my shelf so I hope the thrill levels pick up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse