Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
54
4.4 out of 5 stars
Peril at End House (Poirot)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 May 2017
I'd always overlooked this particular novel in the past, picking up somewhere along the way that it was rather dark, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. It isn't particularly dark at all really but rather humorous and tongue in cheek. We see M. Poirot and Hastings holidaying but murder and mystery are never too far away - much, of course, to the delight of M. Poirot and his indefatigable ego. When the mystery is eventually solved the explanation seems both fantastical and simplistic - but being totally engrossed in the tale the reader, I think, is totally accepting of it. Recommended as a very enjoyable although relatively quick read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
This is one of my favourite AC stories, along with Death on the Nile, Murder on the Orient Express, and Cat among the Pigeons. This CD 5 disc recording is an excellent production of a much-loved tale. Naturally, I highly recommend this murder mystery to all that love this genre. This is a replacement as I inadventally lost a disc when selling a CD player. Such is my love for this story that no amount of money would deter me from buying a replacement! What higher recommendation than that could I possibly provide!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
True Poirot style, set after Poirot has retired and assisted by his long term friend Hastings,this has all the twists and turns you would expect in an Agatha Christie mystery. Poirot is on holiday when an incident catches his attention and he can't resist the temptation to investigate further. A tried and tested formula but if you have enjoyed other Poirot novels you will certainly enjoy this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
This is a review of the hardback book. Being a 'Facsimile' copy the font in probably alien to modern readers but easy to get used to.
This a typicial 'whodunnit', pleanty of twists and turns but a logical approach will lead to the same answer as Poirot.
This is another novel that features Captain Hastings and Inspector japp.
Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Poirot and Hastings are a sedate and amusing counterpoint against the rackety and dark lives of the main protagonists of this tale.
The story is told straightforwardly by Hastings, again a nice touch given the twists and turns of the plot.
Agatha's characters can seem like parodies but there is always a grain of truth and a deal of perspicacity in her observations of human nature.
Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2017
Not one of her best, but even an average Christie is better than most of her competitors of the period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
I bought this for my son it downloaded fine and he finds it a good read honestly can not say more than that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
A great read from the best and certainly one you shouldn't miss
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Classic Christie, but don't enjoy Poirot as much as Miss Marple, but a good read all the same with the usual unexpected twist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
A great twist in this book at the end I loved it and couldn't put it down !!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse