Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 December 2014
I stumbled upon this book whilst looking for Harriette Wilson`s memoirs and decided to order it, as one chapter was about her.

Hickman`s book is actually a very well researched study of five English courtesans dating from the Regency period to the Edwardian; though I knew quite a bit about Wilson and Cora Pearl the others - Sophia Baddeley, Elizabeth Armistead and Catherine Walters were less familiar.
The chapters deal with each woman in chronological order; while Hickman provides a fair bit of contextual detail which helps the reader understand both social mores and the day-to-day conventions of each period, there is occasionally some divergence from the main topic when her source material runs thin; this results in anecdotal material and a few meandering passages exploring interesting, if rather secondary subjects.
Pearl and Walters spent much of their time in France so a good deal of the primary source material is delivered in French, mercifully with a full translation in most cases.

This was a pretty good and informative read despite some minor padding; an interesting set of biographies, certainly a worthwhile book on a subject conventional histories of women either ignore or condemn through ignorance, prejudice and projected modern values that are not particularly valid or relevant to the people and times under scrutiny.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2006
The book charts the lives of 5 women, who in this modern day would be classed as prostitutes, call girls, take your pick. They did indeed sell their favours for money, but these were not women of easy virtue, far from it. They had far more to offer to the men in their lives than mere sexual favours.

They were talented women, the fashion icons of their day. Intelligent and well read. Musicians and even linguists. Yes they were erotic, had the faces and the bodies that attracted men to them, but they were a far cry from the women who frequented taverns and the back streets of London selling their bodies to anyone and everyone who had a few coppers to spare.

These courtesans had an agenda and that agenda was to lure a rich patron into their web. Their attributes could help to give themselves a wonderful life. A life that they would probably never have experienced without the use of their feminine wiles and the gullibility and weakness of men.

Katie Hickman gives a compelling account of the lives of these five women. A glittering life that most people in the 18th and 19th century could normally only dream about.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
I found this racier than The Lives & Times of Diplomatic Wives and again a handy book to keep as these women certainly left their mark one way or another!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
This book is only one of quite a few read by myself on the subject. It began with a book by Nancy Mitford about Madame Pompadour, this led inexorably to others of the genre. I have enjoyed everyone of them, each has had it's trials and tribulations, faults and brilliance so, one cannot dismiss any of them This book answers questions regarding the courtesan of the 1800's, there are so many of them,so to pick up on just five is a feat unto itself. Each page has something interesting, the pictures add to the fuller picture, so, I reckon this book counts as a decent read, about a largely forgotten part of history and culture.
We still see how a woman, individually, can be lauded by the populace, to be praised by the 'celebrity culture' today and, just like the courtesans, not much has altered over the years. The petty minded people who, largely are simple jealous folk, cast aspersions on people who have got somewhere, who are now recognised, just like the 'demimodaine' of yesteryear. Situations and circumstances change as the world changes, but the 'oldest profession', whether upper, or lower class, still continues today, maybe in a different manner, but still an interesting subject for the armchair psychologists amongst us.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2008
This is a great book to introduce you to the world of the courtesans & the demi-monde. If, like me, you have read about individual courtesans before, this book will provide some understanding of the background & social mores which made the existence of these women possible. On the other hand, if this is your first foray into the demi-monde, it is a good way to get to know this very complicated world. But you need to put your 21st century feminist principles firmly to one side, if you are to view these women as they were seen (& how they wished to be seen) by thier contemporaries. I particularly liked the fact that the writer didn't dwell too much on the ultimate demise of these women, as I have found some other biographers tended to. As if they had somehow got the ultimate come-uppence for their lives of dissipation! You only have to read about the deaths of Georgiana Duchess of Devonshire or Mary Wollstonecraft to know that disease & death were particualrly nasty back then. My only disappointment was that there were no photos or portraits in my book, but then it was an old copy that I got for a bargain price. Other good reads on this subjest are the 'Courtesans Revenenge' & biographies of Emma Hamilton or Perdita Robinson.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
I really enjoyed this book as an excellent read, but am not sure that I really agree with the author's (and some reviewers here) opinion that these women were independent, 'proto-feminists' who could be role models for us today. For all their beauty, glamour, money etc etc these women were, at heart, prostitutes, utterly dependant on men to whom they sold their bodies for money. Yes they maintained a kind of freedom in avoiding the patriarchal power of marriage, but they weren't any less defined by men, or any more able to construct their own lifestyles or self-identities, other than in what would be sexually-enticing for the men they needed to survive.

Most of them weren't married, not because they chose to be 'single', but because they weren't accepted in 'polite' society, an alienation which is played down quite a lot in the book. Similarly there's a lot of talk about their sexual independance, but while they were women who valued themselves, can someone be said to be independant when actually they are socially-ostracised, and have to sleep with men because that's their 'career' and only source of income?

It seems to me to be a little disturbing that there is a bit of trend for glamourising prostitution (Belle du Jour, for example, as a modern take on the same story), when beneath the money and the allure lies what appears to me to be a sad story of female victims dressing up their own dependancy as freedom.

Despite that (!), I did enjoy this book, in the way that I would enjoy a light novel, and there's undoubtedly a sense of survival about these women that is admirable. The shopping too is mouth-watering, but for all the women who raved about this for the 'independance' of the protagonists: be honest, is this really what we would want for our daughters?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2004
If like me you've become an obsessive reader of books about 18th century figures then you will enjoy this book. The worlds of the 'ton' and the 'demi-monde' operated side and by side sometimes colliding disastrously and ocassionally successfully. Katie Hickman's book looks at the lives of four courtesans and their contemporaries with a modern eye but a keen understanding of the mores and givens of the time. You feel she really likes the women she portrays, warts and all, and excels at those gossipy details beloved of home historians like me. I used to want to be Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire but now I think Harriette Wilson, the 18th century's 'Material Girl' was having much more fun!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
I bought this book in a travellers' book exchange shop in Vietnam, and loved it so much I carted it home in my backpack. It tells the stories of five British courtesans whose lives span The Georgian period through to the early twentieth century. Each had a very different personality yet reached the pinnacle of success. The only thing I felt at the end was that I could have read a full book about each of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2008
The book charts the lives of 5 women, who in this modern day would be classed as prostitutes, call girls, take your pick. They did indeed sell their favours for money, but these were not women of easy virtue, far from it. They had far more to offer to the men in their lives than mere sexual favours.

They were talented women, the fashion icons of their day. Intelligent and well read. Musicians and even linguists. Yes they were erotic, had the faces and the bodies that attracted men to them, but they were a far cry from the women who frequented taverns and the back streets of London selling their bodies to anyone and everyone who had a few coppers to spare.

These courtesans had an agenda and that agenda was to lure a rich patron into their web. Their attributes could help to give themselves a wonderful life. A life that they would probably never have experienced without the use of their feminine wiles and the gullibility and weakness of men.

Katie Hickman gives a compelling account of the lives of these five women. A glittering life that most people in the 18th and 19th century could normally only dream about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2005
Well, it's an entertaining enough read but don't rely on it too much for historical accuracy. Not when Hickman cites "Diary of a Young Lady of Fashion in the Year 1764-65" as a primary source on three separate occasions, even though "Diary etc." was written in the 1920s, as fiction, by a young Magdalen King-Hall. It hasn't been considered genuine since it was first published. It really doesn't say a great deal for the standard of Hickman's research.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)