Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
47
2.8 out of 5 stars
Postern of Fate (Tommy & Tuppence Chronology)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 March 2007
This is a very late Christie. She revisits her old childhood home, long since demolished, by having her characters Tommy and Tuppence buy it. They find it is full of her old childhood toys. They also find a clue to a long-ago mystery and she repeats her adage that time will bring the truth to light. By revisiting her own distant past, she seems to be making peace with life and saying farewell to it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
not as good as usual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
I really enjoyed this book as I love all the dective books by Agatha Christie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
I am an enormous Agatha Christie fan and have read many of her works. I absolutely loved "The Secret Adversary", also featuring Tommy and Tuppence, so I was excited about kicking back and getting lost in "Postern of Fate".

The book is absolutely awful. There is, in short, absolutely no plot. The first chapter is quite intriguing with the hidden message in the book - but believe me when I say that the plot, in the whole of the rest of the novel, doesn't go any further than that. Tommy and Tuppence have endless, pointless discussions about who this Mary Jordan might be, and how might she have been murdered. They never get further than speculating, in between endless discussions about useless and irrelevant information (plants, dogs etc). There is no suspect list, no information about the victim herself, no investigation - just endless speculation about nothing.

It's a shame, but I really had to force myself to read it to the end, it was so boring.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 February 2017
I am not so keen on Christie's Tommy and Tuppence novels and short stories but this one caught my attention and I did enjoy it though not perhaps as much as a novel featuring Poirot or Miss Marple. Tommy and Tuppence have moved house and have taken on a run down mansion which needs some loving care. They are hoping for a peaceful retirement after their spy hunting working lives.

But their hope for peace dies a quick death when Tuppence discovers an ingenious message in a book consisting of underlined letters which spell out - Mary Jordan did not die a natural death. Tuppence naturally wants to know who Mary Jordan was and why such a message has been left.

Tuppence quickly worms her way into the local village and gradually uncovers a tale of secrets and murder from sixty years ago. It seems that someone doesn't want the irrepressible duo to discover what really went on. I did enjoy the story and thought it was very cleverly plotted but I felt some of the conversations were pretty incomprehensible and oblique - though I suspect you need to have read the previous books in this series to understand many of the references.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
loved reading this book very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
I am a big fan of Agatha Christie and could never have envisaged giving just 1 star to one of her books, but this is dreadful. From reading other reviews I now understand that this was the last book she wrote and unfortunately it is one best avoided. It starts with an interesting premise, a 60 year old message is found in a book stating that someone didn’t die a natural death. However, after that the book deteriorates badly, jumping all over the place with no coherent plot and lots of rambling conversations that add nothing. The ending comes out of nowhere – I didn’t even realise it was supposed to be the big reveal!

One to avoid alas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
This is the only Tommy and Tuppence book that I've read that I've enjoyed as much as the Poirot and the Marple books, and the only one in which their personalities aren't overpoweringly underwhelming. It's also the last book that Christie ever wrote, although not the last to be published - interesting, as Tommy and Tuppence were her only characters who aged in real-time, in their seventies at the time of the novel's creation.

Weirdly though, the reviews for the book are terrible, with many critics complaining that Christie is losing her grip and that conversations are repeated several times or that the ageing main characters take several chapters to solve simple riddles. I didn't really see that, but then I read on the bus on my way to and from work, and so I can quite happily recap between sessions without even realising it.

Still, I wouldn't say it's one of Christie's best works, and it's only worth reading if you're a hardcore fan of the great crime writer. Better titles include Death On the Nile and And Then There Were None, so be sure to read those and to investigate more of her work before digging in this deep.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2007
...and remember this is her last book. She uses her characters Tommy and Tuppence to say goodbye, and to go back to her early youth. The house they buy is the house she grew up in on the outskirts of Torquay (since demolished and built over with villas). In her mind, though, it still exists, and it still contains all her old toys and books. It also contains the past, always a Christie obsession. She loved to note how things changed and got forgotten - and how other things, like megalomaniac plans for running the world, were always coming back in different forms. T&T reminisce about all their old cases, and meet a couple of characters from previous books (Mr Robinson and Colonel Pikeaway). By delving in the distant past through the misty memories of old-age pensioners and the legends that have been handed down to the latest generation, our heroes find the "papers" various factions have been seeking for decades. A missing mastermind? A worldwide association recruiting vulnerable young people to commit deeds of violence? Is that so unlikely? After this novel, like Prospero, Christie put her toys back in their box.
33 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse