Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 September 2000
This is the story of Gillian and Joyce Linton, who are sent to the Chalet School because their mother is seriously ill with TB. First published in 1934, it's one of my favourites of the Austrian Chalet School books, I think because of the strong sense of place, time and character EBD conveys here. There is a richness to this book, which deals with such serious issues as children learning to live with a parent's illness and relationships between growing siblings, without ever losing sight of the necessity for a childrens book to be enjoyable, even as it discusses serious matters. So many modern children's novels cop out by either being entirely frivolous or being unrelentingly grim. EBD gives us a much more rounded and realistic view of life by demonstrating how the two coexist.
Newcomers to the Chalet series must be warned that the paperback edition of The Chalet School And The Lintons contains only half the story. The original (and long out of print) hardback was so long that the decision was made to slice the book into two when the paperback reprint was published. You will need to buy A Rebel At The Chalet School to find out how the story ends...
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
I am slowly going through the series, replacing paperback copies of one of my favourite children's authors. So much more detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Old boarding school classics. I love these!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Great to read the whole story again instead of an abridged Armada. There was a lot missing that I had forgotten over the years (actually decades!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
A nice trip down Memory Lane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
It was a replacement for one I had that got damaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
It's almost 50 years since I read most of these books. There was nothing remotely comparable for boys then - there isn't now. As one of the other reviewers says, the languages used, the new ideas, experiences and places described were hugely exotic to a youngster in northern England in the 1960s. It didn't matter that these were girls' books - there was nothing 'girly' in them. Miss Brent-Dyer conveniently ignored puberty, boys, anything at all nasty, but dealt well with the sort of relationships young people of the same sex have. The things which, for me, make this still a wonderful series of books are -
1. the assumption that everyone should aim to be trilingual, self-sufficient, widely read, able to argue a point of view
2. the superb sense of place - I went on a bus trip from Innsbruck some years ago to Pertisau on the Achensee, the setting for the early books, and have just re-read 'The School at the Chalet' out of curiosity and as a little nostalgia trip. It captures the atmosphere perfectly and I still want to be there NOW
3. the strong sense of integrity which shines out of every book.

Yes, they're old-fashioned, yes you'll giggle at some of the language and the attitudes, but Miss B-D was revolutionary in her time and the books are still, over 90 years after the first one appeared, SIMPLY TOPPING!
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2003
This is the first book in the Chalet School series. It's a great book about Madge and Joey's problems and joys at starting a school with help from Mademoiselle Le Pattre. They have many adventures including sleeping in a sheperd's home half way up a mountain and Simone's attempts to gian Joey's exclusive friendship. This book is a must for any Chalet School Fan.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2002
The wonderful part about the Chalet School series is that it never ended! Elinor Brent-Dyer never concluded the books and the Chalet School was allowed to exist beyond her death.
The School was opened in Tyrol, was forced to flee during the Second World War to Guernsey, and then again to Wales. Finally the School returned to foreign lands, this time to Switzerland a move back to Tyrol being impossible in the political climate of the time.
A truly wonderful series of books capturing brilliantly the changing morals and outlooks of differing generations through changing and turbulent times. In fact it is easy to think the Chalet School as adapatable as ever would still be functioning and flourishing today.
The books are educational and thought provoking but provide a wonderful read without preaching. There are elements of fun, mystery and danger and the most engaging element of the books is that the stories of the Chalet School girls follow them into adulthood - they do not merely disappear into the great wide world!! In fact in some instances their children come to the school too. As well as the girls we are also given insights into the lives of the Staff - which is not to be found in many "school books". In truth the Chalet series is more than a girls school series of stories - they are much more encompassing than that and I would strongly recommend anyone read them - I can guarantee they will become hooked on this wonderful series of books
44 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here