Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2009
this book is excellent for anyone interested in culture, philosophy, art, subcultures, politics and history. It is a funky little encyclopedia of many key terms used in all these disciplines, very good for quick references and makes good reading as a straight book too. Keywords is current, extremely interesting, highly informative and very accessible. I had a copy in 1990 and it was a good companion to the cultural studies course at the time, I sold my copy when the course ended and regretted doing that as I actually missed the book (sad). I've since bought it again. So if like me you get turned on by words such as Hegemony, Existentialism, Idealism and any other Ism you will be pleased with this book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This is a necessary requisite for especially people in the earlier stages of their cultural education : I have therefore made it a priority to equip the households in which my grandchildren live with a copy of this work .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2005
Ever had to define a historical term in an essay? Looked frantically through a dictionary and thrown it at the wall for being unhelpful? You need this book, which gives you a complete history of the changing definitions of some of the most important words for historians. Yes it is dry, yes it is extremely boring, but it is also invaluable when you're writing that all-important essay.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Extremely useful publication, a must for anyone embarking on academic study of the arts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Brilliant book; really helpful reading aid to my English university course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2016
important as a text and as a method
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2001
Williams book is a very useful one. It offers a wide variety of explanations of the concepts,institutions and values which have shaped the world over the centuries. Ranging from the traditional ideas of family to lesser investigated areas such as intellect and dialect. An important book and one which anyone interested in such an area should own.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2004
Raymond Williams has a high reputation and was one of the pioneers of Marxist literary criticism in Britain. However, this glossary of 'keywords' is insubstantial and dated. The definitions are not sufficiently detailed and many words one might legitimately expect to find, aren't included. For those interested in Williams' work, I suggest 'The Country and the City.' 'Keywords' is a nice idea, but lacks breadth and vigor. Do not buy it. You may think it will come in useful at a later date: believe me, it won't.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)